Happy Birthday to Moi


I am now 53. No big deal. Just an older old lady:) My daughter, Sabrina, sent me a text message saying, “Happy 60th” Really sweet, right? Well, hell, what’s wrong with 60? One of my bestest friends in the whole world will be 63 soon and I think she is just beautiful inside and out. Most of the friends/colleagues I hang out with are hitting 60 pretty damn soon, if not there already. But Sabrina is in her 20s and 60 sounds very very old to her. So she is forgiven.
Not so my brother, Rob, affectionately referred to as “Robearskin” – a long story having to do with our sister, Linda’s experience in French class in the early 70s. Don’t ask. Anyhoo – Rob decided to send me a nice birthday e-mail stressing how old I really am. As in “I bet you remember the Beatles on the Ed Sullivan Show” (it was actually my 10th birthday) or “my ex was born that day” (thanks, bro) or “my fiance’ wasn’t even born yet.” He attaches adorable pics of their kids that totally melt my heart. However, I did not respond without an obligatory “fuck you.” Of course I attached a smiley face:)
Funny, I’ve often thought that the people who mean the most to me in the world probably wouldn’t make it in the pretty department, but to me they are just lovely. Beauty truly is in the eyes of the beholder. In the end, love really is all that matters. Of course, my kids are the best looking bunch in the world:) And I understand other people seeing their kids as beautiful.
Today has been an up and down day, emotionally. I have to participate in the letting go of a colleague and that is never fun – especially if it’s someone you know out of the work situation. I hope this person finds a better position – better suited to this person’s abilities. No fun because I have to be a meanie. No fun because I know the person’s situation. No fun because I now have almost twice the client load. again.
Fuck.
The up side: it has also been a day of gifts – birthday gifts. I started off the morning with John (He had off from the hotel last night) and he presented me with the CD “My Nola” by Harry Connick, Jr. My he’s hot (OK, John’s not bad, either). I said that at work – and then realized how young he is and said “I now feel like a pedophile.” Not an appropriate comment in a firm that represents CHILDREN!!!!! Oy….OK folks, I don’t really feel like a pedophile. ew. ew. ew. However, the ride to court yesterday morning was quite nice. His band is quite excellent. And it’s the kind of music John and I can both listen to.
Ahem….
When court was over, I had to meet with the boss and get my paperwork done for this week because Lord knows, next week will be hellacious. Just figuring out my calendar is going to be a challenge, shall we say? Boss gave me a raise, which was nice, but it just makes the guilt (the very small amount of guilt) that much more difficult to deal with.
When I got home, John had left for his other job and the kids treated me to some Chinese food and red wine (bless their little over-21 hearts:)). The piece de resistance was this:

a beautiful refurbished Armstrong 80 (is that the correct term???), “French” style (holes in the keys) gold mouthpiece, silver, with a B foot – FLUTE!! Kristin’s BF, Sonny, works in a music store and this one came in just a few days ago. I am so humbled by their generosity, to say the least. And now I HAVE to practice. In fact, I have to relearn how to play it. I must have short or lazy fingers that need the workout of COVERING the holes so that I can actually make a sound that doesn’t hurt the animals’ ears outside:) To say I’m excited is an understatement. Hey, if I keep on practicing, maybe I can start to play the duets I used to do in college! Right now, though, I really have to work on the tone and just do my exercises and scales. I figure a couple of months of nothing but that and then maybe venture into an actual piece. Let’s do this right!
Tomorrow, I am going to start out the day walking with Nancy in the park – and it will be cold. I don’t care, she is such an inspiration for me. I have never really exercised on a regular basis like this – and this is not a lot of exercise – but having someone there to talk with while you’re moving makes the time go so much faster and a lot more interesting! I’ve been missing out on this kind of fun for a long time now, LOL.
After that, more Vivaldi Gloria for this musically, ahem, challenged individual.
++++++++++
Back to the blog Saturday afternoon – had a great walk. Unfortunately, the conversation was about the abuse of a little boy – something I just LOVE to hear about Saturdays (NOT!!!) but the story was interesting. Just hard to hear on an empty empty stomach. I am still feeling nauseous! Choir practice was excellent. Although I have a bit still to practice, the rehearsal was very productive. I don’t sound as bad with others as I do alone – thank God for being one of many:) It just amazes me how Nancy can play four parts, conduct 4 parts and sing each one (excepting bass) without batting an eyelash. I’ve always been in awe of musicians. Especially exceptional ones. That’s all there is to it.
Dori and the grandangels are coming over and we’ll read Harvey Fierstein’s The Sissy Duckling. I love books like this – about the underdog being the savior of the flock – a lot like the Rudolph story. OK, Grammy’s a nerd:)
John’s working the Center Club tonight – and then we’re going out to dinner at Clydes this evening. I am trying to talk him into going to church with me tomorrow morning. Somehow I don’t think he’s going to be interested. He will have worked fairly late tonight and the lure of a warm soft bed will probably be too much. We shall see….
Tomorrow, the kids (except Danny and Tori – he’s got filming) are coming over for Sunday dinner and we’ll do the b’day thing again. God give me strength to avoid all sugar and starch!!
Monday should be interesting. I have a meeting with my boss and a co-worker, and afterwards, a little trip down Rte 97 to the Annapolis State House and Equality Maryland’s Lobby Day. I’ve never done something like this, but if I can, I will. It’s for a good cause – equal rights is an important thing for people of all genders, races, creeds, and yes, sexual preference! The only thing that might stop me going is if John has other plans – unless he’d like to come along! (Hmmmm did Slim just leave town?)
+

4 Comments

  1. sillyewe says:

    So tell me…have you been practicing on that flute??? ;0) I see you are going to do the Erin KAL. It’s gonna be gorgeous. I want to do it, but it will be later in life when I actually have some more things accomplished. heh Like your classicalmuicislove button. :0)

  2. sillyewe says:

    So tell me…have you been practicing on that flute??? ;0) I see you are going to do the Erin KAL. It’s gonna be gorgeous. I want to do it, but it will be later in life when I actually have some more things accomplished. heh Like your classicalmuicislove button. :0)

  3. FugueStateKnits says:

    Oh, please feel free to steal those buttons! Got them from a livejournal site and it was clear one could take them. I have not recently practiced, although I will soon. I got my remaining 4 top teeth pulled and now wear a denture. My mouth is a bit sore and I will need to readjust the old mouth to work with the flute again – but wow! Playing it is, in the immortal words of “Bahbra” “like buttah!”

    I love your blog – music and knitting?!!! Wow, I’d be in heaven! And playing oboe, you must get a lot of renaissance, baroque and early classical gigs – Lucky you!!
    Take care,
    Joan a/k/a FSK
    As for Erin – I have A.S.’s book, but no bucks for fancy schmancy wool, so I’m trying to do a first trial in acrylics (GASP). Did begin the Dalegarn thingie and it’s turning out fairly well (no pun intended). As soon as I can figure out how to use my daughter’s digital camera, pics are going up:)

  4. FugueStateKnits says:

    Oh, please feel free to steal those buttons! Got them from a livejournal site and it was clear one could take them. I have not recently practiced, although I will soon. I got my remaining 4 top teeth pulled and now wear a denture. My mouth is a bit sore and I will need to readjust the old mouth to work with the flute again – but wow! Playing it is, in the immortal words of “Bahbra” “like buttah!”

    I love your blog – music and knitting?!!! Wow, I’d be in heaven! And playing oboe, you must get a lot of renaissance, baroque and early classical gigs – Lucky you!!
    Take care,
    Joan a/k/a FSK
    As for Erin – I have A.S.’s book, but no bucks for fancy schmancy wool, so I’m trying to do a first trial in acrylics (GASP). Did begin the Dalegarn thingie and it’s turning out fairly well (no pun intended). As soon as I can figure out how to use my daughter’s digital camera, pics are going up:)

Leave a Comment