My favorite Patriotic songs


There are many, but I think my two favorites are America the Beautiful and This Land is Your Land.  The first because it speaks to the yearning we all have for that place called home and expresses that deeply held wish that the place we love continue to be the place we can be proud of.  The second because it is a reminder that this country is a country of the people – not the rich “success stories” – the people. That each one of us is a stakeholder. Thank you Woody Guthrie and Pete Seeger and all of your ilk:)!

I’ve gathered some pictures from the internet to express my hopes and dreams for this place I call my country. I dream of the day it really becomes the Land of the Free – but it needs to be more the Home of the Brave before that happens (speaking strictly for myself and my own lack of courage from time to time!)

America the Beautiful

O beautiful for spacious skies

 

For amber waves of grain

 

For purple mountain majesties

 

Above the fruited plain

 

America! America!

God

 

 

 

 

shed Her Grace on Thee! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And crown thy good with brother(sister)hood

 

 

 

 

From sea to shining sea!

O beautiful for pilgrim feet,
Whose stern impassion’d stress
A thoroughfare for freedom beat
Across the wilderness!
America! America! God mend thine ev’ry flaw,
Confirm thy soul in self-control,
Thy liberty in law!O beautiful for heroes proved In liberating strife,
Who more than self their country loved,
And mercy more than life!
America! America! May God thy gold refine
Till all success be nobleness,
And ev’ry gain divine!

O Beautiful for patriot dream
That sees beyond the years
Thine alabaster cities gleam,
Undimmed by human tears!
America! America! God shed His grace on thee,
And crown thy good with brotherhood
From sea to shining sea!
 
 

 

And now changing keys, ahem…..

THIS LAND IS YOUR LAND words and music by Woody Guthrie                                

Chorus:

This land is your land, this land is my land                                                                                                  From California, to the New York Island                                                                                                       From the redwood forest, to the gulf stream waters                                                                                      This land was made for you and me

As I was walking a ribbon of highway                                                                                                                I saw above me an endless skyway                                                                                                                     I saw below me a golden valley                                                                                                                    This land was made for you and me

Chorus

I’ve roamed and rambled and I’ve followed my footsteps                                                                                 To the sparkling sands of her diamond deserts                                                                                               And all around me a voice was sounding                                                                                                     This land was made for you and me

Chorus

The sun comes shining as I was strolling                                                                                                      The wheat fields waving and the dust clouds rolling                                                                                      The fog was lifting a voice come chanting                                                                                                         This land was made for you and me

Chorus

As I was walkin’ – I saw a sign there                                                                                                             And that sign said – no tress passin’                                                                                                             But on the other side …. it didn’t say nothin!                                                                                               Now that side was made for you and me!

Chorus

In the squares of the city – In the shadow of the steeple                                                                             Near the relief office – I see my people                                                                                                          And some are grumblin’ and some are wonderin’                                                                                              If this land’s still made for you and me.

Chorus (2x)

©1956 (renewed 1984), 1958 (renewed 1986) and 1970 TRO-Ludlow Music, Inc. ( BMI)

It took a lot of courage to get this copyrighted in 1956 -especially with that last verse he so rarely sang!

to all you from the States, wherever you are, Happy Independence Day! And for those of you who are not from the USA, please forgive this small burst of love for the place I call home.  You who love your homes and wish it could be better, as I do, I know you will understand. May god bless America with intelligence, compassion, generosity and faith.  We need it!+

Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

3 thoughts on “My favorite Patriotic songs”

  1. Thank you, Joanna:) I actually got to hear This Land is Your Land while drumming along to it this morning in a local marching band and I thought of this post as we played. It’s kind of funny hearing a folk song played in the usually militaristic style of a march, but I guess this is American life, right?
    Hope you are enjoying this holiday weekend,
    Joan

Leave a Reply

