Please note the pictures below of the Bay Bridge, and Ocean City are not mine – I found them on the internet.  Did not see any copyright info at the sites, except that the map is by Google, so if anyone sees them and knows otherwise, please let me know and I’ll remove them immediately or credit where appropriate.

 

Well hello again! It’s been an interesting week.  This morning I was supposed to get up and go to our Knitting Group’s Knitting in Public Day’s festivities between 10 and 12  – but I didn’t get my lazy bee-hind out of bed until about 11:30! What a slug!  And our knitting group is reallly growing – here’s a recent article in the Baltimore Sun – of course I missed that meeting too!  In my defense, I will say that yesterday was an extraordinarily long day.  It started at 5:30 in the morning when I got up and ended at about midnight and included about six hours of driving.

For the first time in over sixteen, yes sixteen years of law practice, I went to our Bar Association’s Annual Meeting.  Not the whole week of festivities, mind you, just the Friday Solo and Small Firm Day.  For one thing it fit my budget a lot better and another, it fit my time frames and allowed me to impose only briefly on my colleagues’ good will (especially after last week’s fun and frolic!).

There’s something about getting up super early and getting on the road by myself that I find somewhat – I don’t know – thrilling? It’s quiet, the road beckons and there’s that feeling like you’re leaving all the worries behind if only for a day.  Merlin’s Eastern Shore is still fairly quiet and there’s still a lot of farmland and, despite the economic hardship, a number of watermen are still out there doing their thing – although where I traveled I didn’t see too much of them!  Route 50 alternates between the stop and go of the Bay Bridge, the towns and the countryside.

It was a bright beautiful sunny day.  The view of the Severn River in Annapolis, with the white flurry of sailboats dotting the water and the view of the Chesapeake from the Bay Bridge are two of my favorite sites in Merlin.  Makes me almost wax poetic about the place.  Of course, Ocean City is such a Maryland icon, that one almost takes it for granted.  And yet in the 28 years we’ve lived here, yesterday was the third time I’d been there.  Many Marylanders have gone “down d’ocean hon'” for decades, if not centuries now.   Well, I guess only the REALLY OLD Merliners have been going for centuries, LOL!         

Ocean City is a lot like Atlantic City – it’s basically a very long, slim island (about four city blocks wide)   within spitting distance of the DelMarVa peninsula.  The west side of the island overlooks the Assawoman Bay (I kid you not) and the east of course overlooks the Atlantic.  Of course right now, Ocean City doesn’t have slots and gambling.  That will probably change in the near future.  I don’t know how I feel about that – it’s a terrific source of income for the state, but it feeds gambling addictions and it has connections with organized crime. Yet we all leave the state to go elsewhere to gamble, and what’s the difference if there’s a state lottery system and so on…

Yesterday’s taste of the annual meeting was just fine – not too much and more affordable than not.  I am not likely to do it again next year, but that’s ok too.  Jay Foonberg, an attorney and author of law practice management books, gave the afternoon talk and he was EXCELLENT. 

I got home about 9:00 and off to bed at midnight when I could barely keep my eyes open.  However, I did manage to get some knitting and finishing done today.

The pictures to the right are of the completed entrelac scarf with the Noro yarn.  Hard to believe it comes from three skeins of the just one color lot, but it does.  The picture above is pre-blocking.  It stretched out a bit post-blocking (below) and I think it looks a bit better, although it is shorter than I wanted it to be – it’s probably going to be too wide to tie, so that’s really OK, depending on who is going to use it. I’ve packed it away for gifts next winter

Also, as can be seen on the links on the right side of this blog, I’ve joined two shawl KALs (knit-a-longs) for you non-knitters out there.  One is the Anniversary Goddess Knits Shawl KAL and the other is the LaceMystery1 KAL.  I’ve done first clues on both of them, but frogged the first clue on the second because I think I’ll do it in another yarn – and it may be a while until clue #2 is available for that one – the organizer is having computer and health issues, but I’m fine waiting. So… I took the yarn that I was going to use for the MysteryLace Shawl and I’m using it for the Goddessknits one. 

I’ve also made some headway on my daughter, D.’s, turtle neck three-quarter length sleeve T – my own design using two colors in a mosaic coupled with three rib patterns.  More pics to come when the light’s better. D is very tall – we would say “five twelve” – so it’s taking a bit longer, even though she is slim, bless her heart!

Well, let’s see, what else is new? D and her husband  (also D) are soon to buy a house.  I spent a good part of Monday assisting with that.  It was nice to be able to help her in some small way.

Work has been fairly quiet – awaiting news on a petition for certiorari that was filed with our highest court in one of my cases.  Hoping I don’t have to argue it again!  My clients seem to be moving all over the place and so should I! I do have some catching up to do with paperwork and a few visits, so that will be my focus in the coming week.

On the music front, I have my first performance as a drummer next Wednesday and again next Sunday.  Hopefully I won’t embarass myself or anyone else!  This coming Tuesday, I will be driving to DC to map out the fastest way to the Washington Cathedral – will probably drive with Nancy.  Thursday, we have another diocesan choir rehearsal in Baltimore for the Consecration of our new bishop – I believe our first African American Bishop.  He’s apparently really big on the environment and fairly liberal (GOOD). The following Wednesday is the ‘dress rehearsal’ at the Cathedral and the following Saturday (the 28th) is the consecration service itself.  We have to be there, vested, at 8 AM – which means leaving from Ellicott City at about 6:30 a.m. On a Saturday! I’d better get used to getting up early.  Somehow in summer, it’s a lot easier to do than in the winter – more sunlight and it’s cooler in the morning:)

Well, I’d better sign off, K and S are back from their honeymoon in “vegas” with a 1 a.m. flight, so I’m leaving for BWI in an hour.

Good night dear 2.5 readers:)

+

Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

2 thoughts on “”

  1. Thistle incarnates

    It is good to have this time to greet you, dear friend. You are kind and your spirit shines brightly with love and faith. It is good to have friendship with you. Although I cannot incarnate very often, I wanted you to know that I think of you and I think good things. Be well, my friend. I am always happy when we are able to communicate.

  2. Thanks, Thistle – that was very kind of you! Hope things are going well for you and you are getting enough sunlight:)!!
    Be well!
    Joan
    +

Leave a Reply

