Sunday in Merlin


It’s a drizzly, rainy day here in Merlin, but the cloudy skies show off the vibrant greens of spring. It seems like overnight, the trees are laden with leaves. I’m writing this as I finish reviewing my few Sunday e-mails. I’ve gotten back from singing in the choir at the late service (an unusual treat lately – seems I’ve been at both services every Sunday for months now – not that I’m complaining:)). After choir, I did the grocery and liquor store shopping for this evening’s birthday dinner celebration. It will only be for Dori – Danny went out with his sisters last night to dinner and back home for their proverbial poker game. While the kids were playing, I was out at Diane’s house, having dinner with her and three other friends. It was a really good time. We all listened to two of the women who were having medical, legal, family, and mental health issues and spent a lot of the time brainstorming. I left in the middle to grab my knitting so we could talk and relax after dinner (I only live about 5 minutes away). I made it back for the tail end of the second set of dilemmas. But it was nice to be able to help each other. I was the last to leave – I did ask Diane if she was getting tired and offered to leave with the others but she wasn’t ready to knock off for the day and neither was I. However, we did stay up way too late! It was almost 1:30 a.m. when I got home.
The kids were still there, which was nice. When I had gone to the house to pick up my knitting, Dori, Donald and the girls were there. Madison was already asleep (ah the joys of Clonidine!) but Ruby was still going strong, so I had a few minutes with her:). By the time I got back the second time, Ruby was out like a light. The game wrapped up and everyone left soon after.
While it was nice to sleep in a little this morning, poor Diane couldn’t – she had to be there for the early service this morning – she conducts the children’s choir! Needless to say, every time she – or I – made a mistake this morning, she laughed and said “It’s all your fault.” And what really puts icing on the cake is that her singing group – Concert Artists of Baltimore – are putting on a wonderful concert at St. Louis Church in Clarksville – a reprise of the wonderful concert I heard this past October! So she is not getting a nap this afternoon either. Yikes.
Right now the house is quiet. S is upstairs, John is still sleeping and someone is on their way home with “stuff” from McDonalds – not I Lord! I’ve got to fit into that outfit I bought for the wedding! I will not be attending Diane’s concert today. This afternoon, the Army Field Band is going to be performing at St. John’s and although I was hoping Madison could go with me, her Daddy is feeling sick and they are taking naps right now. So I will finish this and then be on my merrry way again. It’s always a pleasure to see their concerts. The musicians are excellent and the church has wonderful accoustics. And I can bring my knitting and no one cares. Today I’m going to probably work on Kristin’s wedding wrap (which she probably won’t wear because it’ll be too warm, but what the heck). Speaking of knitting, I’m working on my four-and-a-half active projects: Hemlock Ring Blanket for that KAL, the Wedding Wrap (Lucy Neatby’s falling leaves pattern), the cardigan for Arwen (a/k/a the cardigan for me) and the half project? – the MysteryLace1 KAL – awaiting the next clue! But none of them are sufficiently progressed to be able to notice a difference, so no new pics yet.
But if you want to see a lovely twist on fair isle, take a look at this site. For a mere Paypal pittance, you can get vertical fair isle/scandinavian designs. Lovely! Just found a reference to it today on the Hemlock Ring KAL. Thanks guys!
Well I’m off! Hoping this Sunday brings awe of nature and peace with your families!
+
Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

2 thoughts on “Sunday in Merlin”

  1. Hi Joan!

    Thanks for helping Halo have the courage to take communion. i think he had always been afraid that God would hurt him if he took communion. But nothing bad happened. It actually accomplished something good. it sort of “reset” the process by which he stores guilt/pain/shame so instead of having to cut pretty soon, now it will probably be a few weeks before he has to cut.

    Thanks, my friend.
    Blessed be

    Indigo

Leave a Reply

