Work between the stitches


But I really have a good excuse – I’m defragging the computer. OK that’s not a good one, since I can do this while I’m waiting. But here are pics of my sins of last evening. I really like this red, and even though it is a little on the warm side, it should work with my coloring – or lack thereof!
I decided to try to knit up the hem, rather than going back and sewing it up. I was very very careful to make sure I was knitting the same stitch on the top at the same time as the corresponding stitch on the cast on row. I also found that it’s best to knit into the back of the stitch on the back/wrong side – makes for a neater look. So far, I’m pleased with the result. The only down side of Arwen is the yards of stockinette stitch you have to do before you get to the cabling (which in my opinion makes things
more interesting if a bit slower). Hopefully the color will keep me occupied. As will the Hemlock Ring, the Falling Leaves Scarf, and the turtle neck ribbed Tee for Dori. The rest of my projects are snoozing – or hibernating as they say in Ravelry .
I think having a few – I repeat a few – projects going on at once is healthy. It actually helps things get finished. At least that’s what I tell my boss, LOL:) Well, back to work. Today I have an appointment this afternoon to visit with a client, and in the meantime need to catch up on some paperwork and phone calls. This evening is choir and then I have to get ready for court tomorrow morning.
And it is a beautiful day, although it could turn stormy. My favorite kind of day:)!
On a more serious note, I have been following the situation in Texas with the fundamentalist Mormon sect (which every decent Mormon I know completely disavows!). It is so sad what absolute power in the hands of a few evil people can do. You’d think we would have learned that with Hitler. HAH! A brief glance around the world can tell you THAT’s not true. Whatever your thoughts on the Presidential primaries, one thing Hilary Clinton has said that is sadly the truest thing I’ve heard in a long time: the treatment of women worldwide remains the greatest shame on mankind – and it is the most insidious form of prejudice, discrimination and oppression as well as the source of abuse, injustice and indignity worldwide. Much more so than race, as evil as that oppression continues to be. Wouldn’t it be nice if our so-called enlightened nation elected a woman to show the world that we won’t stand for this? Wouldn’t it be a wonderful thing if young women learned that their bodies really ARE their own? Imagine……
+
Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

3 thoughts on “Work between the stitches”

  1. You’re right about that: Women are still not treated equally — and they should. From a strictly biological standpoint, it is men who are less important. The human race would still continue with a female:male ratio of 20:1, but if the reverse were true, we’d be finished.

    Sorry for missing choir last night… I didn’t have a car 😦

  2. The sweater color is beautiful. I, too, like having a couple of things going at once. It does keep life from getting boring.

    I have noticed that in many of the sects/cults, it is women that are differientiated by dress and hairstyle, and the men are standing around in Adidas, T-shirts, and baseball caps. By the same token, I can’t help but notice in the more secular parts of society, it is the girls who are encouraged to dress in a sexually provocative manner while the same dress code above seems to apply to the men. Whatever the extreme is, women seem to be the losers.

  3. Indigo and Jane – you are both so right, and Jane, it’s interesting that the men of such sects/cults are so daggone interested in how the women look and need so badly to control them. It must be borne of some serious deep-seated insecurities. Yet, the more we try to control others, the less able we really truly are. The one true thing I am about 100 percent certain of is this: that the only person I can control is me – and even that’s doubtful!
    As for the young girls and suggestive clothing – I think variations of that have been going on forever. They will always push. I think the problem today is that no adult in authority is pushing back and setting limits and they so need that!
    Take care and thanks so much for your comments!
    Joan

Leave a Reply

