Boy, it’s been a long day:)





But let me start with last night. Before going to bell prax, my second oldest, Dori, called. Theirhouse was flooded. Again. The management company was busy draining their place, but they needed to come over for a while, which they did. I went to bell choir and thoroughly enjoyed myself as I always do. It’s such an interesting mix of folks and there’s more than music to talk about (not that there’s ANYTHING wrong with talking about nothing but music!!).
Since I had court the next morning, I of course got to bed at a decent hour – NOT. I sat and knit until about 1:30 a.m. THEN I went to bed. And I did get up early, so I could go into the office and get everything in before the day started. Then court: the usual back and forth, trying to work out a solution for a tough issue and of course we did it. And thank God our judge was a decent man who understands the needs of children in care – and who really gets the law.
This afternoon was a round of visits and meetings in preparation for tomorrow and Friday’s hearings. Then home by 6:30 in time to do some correspondence.
Then off to my knitting meetup – with a good conscience because my work was done for the day. On the way home, I did have to stop off at the Celtic Knot Yarn Shop to get another skein of yarn for Kristin’s wedding shawl (I’m going one skein at a time,LOL!). And then as I’m checking out (I promise, John, it was a very small purchase) the young lady behind the counter said, “You’re fuguestateknits, aren’t you?” I felt so famous – I knew it was a ravelry thing, LOL. Turns out, she’s bunnysquirrel ! So here’s a shout out to bunnysquirrel:) Good luck with the grad school thing. You’re more adventurous than I am, since you spin your own sometimes.
Tonight at the meetup I was telling everyone about this, as I met up with Textillian, Javajem, bunnylove, LynnZ, ExecutiveKnitter, Pheelya, and Carla whose Ravelry name is MartianPrincess – and who also spins her own! I had to laugh – it was like the old CB Radio “handles” of the 70s. Now we’re known by our Ravelry or our blog names, LOL! Unfortunately my fun was just a little short-lived. I was trying to sit down and my butt miscalculated (now you know where my brains are, LOL!) The chair tilted backwards, I missed it, I went backwards, hitting the back of my head against a table behind me that was unoccupied, and landing on my well-padded-but-in-poor-shape behind. Within minutes my head was throbbing, but I have clear vision, no nausea, none of the symptoms of concussion. My butt hurts, my shoulders are sore and my back will be yelling at me in the morning I’m sure, but so far, I’m OK. I feel good actually, about the fact that my childhood training in falling all over the place stood me in good stead. I just let go and let myself fall. Had I fought it, I would be in worse shape, I have no doubt. Sometimes you just have to go with the flow.
But Panera was a good location otherwise. They actually have diet soda:) Whoo hoo! And as you can see, I actually was able to knit a few rows.
The good news and the bad news is – no books or magazines. Figure it out, LOL! Plus, we have to leave at a decent hour which really is also a good thing. So, on balance, Panera is a good choice. And, if your butt makes it INTO the seats, they do tend to be more comfortable.
Well, I am two glasses of wine and two Advil into the remainder of the evening. Dori and Donald’s place is flooded not just with water, but the lucky things get to have SEWAGE:), so they are spending the night. Sometimes it’s nice being a lawyer mom. (let me at that mgt company!)
Good night angels:)+
Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

7 thoughts on “Boy, it’s been a long day:)”

  1. Hope you are feeling ok today. It looked like a nasty spill.

    It was good to see you again, though. Let’s just all stay upright next time.

  2. Thanks for your comments! I can’t believe it, but apart from a couple of little bruises and a little soreness, I’m really fine. I guess it makes sense to roll with the punches, so to speak.
    Good to see you!
    Take care,Joan

  3. I hope you are feeling better this morning! The chairs were more comfortable, but I do miss the books and magazines 🙂

  4. We are very glad you were not badly injured, precious friend. Indigo stayed safe today as well. It will be good to see you at choir practice. In fact, you just walked by where I am sitting while writing this. 🙂 Blessed Be, Joan.

    Thistle

  5. From another who has missed chairs and curbs and even flat sidewalk, I hope you are doing well now. Usually what gets hurt when I do this is my pride – it doesn’t goeth before the fall but it is what I usually land on.

    Happy knitting.

  6. thank you, thistle! You are very kind:) By the way, you have a beautiful voice and a really really good sense of pitch and boy, can you sight read!
    Pheelya – me too! I miss having them around even though I do resist the temptations most times!
    Gail – my “pride” is quite bruised, my shoulders hurt and my head still has a nasty sore spot where the lump was, but all is well with my, ahem, soul….

Leave a Reply

