Social/Iron Butterfly?


Couldn’t resist this album cover from Iron Butterfly – if you all remember In a Gadda Da Vida in the early 70’s. I loved that nine-minute drum solo – wanted to play it in the worst way, LOL!
When last I left you dear 3.5 readers, I was contemplating a number of projects and working hard to finish one for this week. I was anticipating a visit from Dori, Donald, Mads and Ruby that didn’t happen (it gets late and kids – and parents – get cranky, LOL). So, Friday evening, I scheduled visits for yesterday and today to get ready for the hearing on Monday. I was lucky enough to get ahold of 3 out of 4 placements -YAY. Anyway, I was on my way to the one visit I had scheduled for Saturday (actually two – but I rescheduled the second one for today). It was hard leaving in the car because it was a beautiful day and just the sort of sunny beautiful day for a walk in anticipation of Spring (it’s definitely on its way in my neck of the woods). I checked my phone – ringer was off so as not to disturb my sleeping hubby. Lo and behold, Nancy was headed to the church for some catch up before services today and was wondering if a walk was in my future. It turns out it was. We had a glorious walk on a beautiful day, catching up on her vacation, my week, our pets, present and deceased, Kristins’ upcoming nuptuals and all in no particular order. Can you say ADHD? I pity anyone trying to follow this conversation from the outside, LOL! I’m actually worse than she is, which to anyone who knows me is no surprise. Nancy treated me to lunch, which was very nice of her and then we both headed home. I checked my e-mail when I got home, calendared a staff meeting, responded to others, sent out a group e-mail, etc. Diane L. invited me to watch a movie at her place that evening, and not having anything else pressing on my dance card, LOL, I readily accepted.
We had a lovely time – watched Enchanted and Atonement – obviously two very different movies, but both excellent in their own way. Diane was not as enamoured of Atonement as I was (what a tear jerker that one was), mostly because the presentation of the story was so disjointed. The cinematography was outstanding, though (how’s that for a big word?) Throughout, I got a lot of knitting done. It’s starting to be a thing with me – no TV without knitting needles in hand. That’s not a bad thing.
Today, the choirs are neither ringing or singing – well the School Choir is, but the bottom line is, I am not going to church today. In a sense, it’s a day off, but given that I have tended to neglect my family over the last few months, I don’t feel too badly about it. It’s nice to support the other music ministries and I would like to hear the children sing, but I was frankly tired last night and the sleep was nice this morning. Besides, I still have two visits to do today, a birthday present to buy, a cake to bake and Sunday dinner to prepare for the birthday girl and the rest of the gang!
So, I’m not getting off scott free, as they say. God forbid THAT should happen!
Oh dear, is my puritanism showing? Not hardly. I cannot feel that way whenever I think of John and his two jobs and how he’s on his feet 15 hours a day.
Well, I’d better get started on living my life today and not just writing about it. Hope you all have a lovely rest of the weekend! More pics to come.
+
Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

6 thoughts on “Social/Iron Butterfly?”

  1. Yup… it is nice being able to just *attend* church once in a while. πŸ™‚ And the kiddies made really beautiful music. They sanf a Nigerian traidtional hymn and it was just wonderful. We should do music that involves drums and finger chimes more often. It was really cool.

    I’m glad you and Nancy got to have a walk in the sun yesterday. It’s really important to get sunlight. πŸ™‚

  2. we did not cut today. we wanted to. but we did n ot do it. we are not evil. we did not cut. we are not bad. we did not cut.

  3. Memories provided by music – love it!

    I’m enjoying the spring. We’re up to tulips blooming now. So nice to walk and enjoy the sights and smells of the season.

    Enjoy yourself!

  4. What a lovely account of a lovely start to your day. I hope the rest of your Sunday was just as peaceful.

    I’m here from Indigo’s blog. He speaks very fondly of you and Nancy. When I saw the link on his blog I had to come see what this wonderful lady Joan is like!

  5. indigo – I’m so glad you’re safe now! Gail – we just had a real spring-like day today (Tuesday) and I hear we’re getting a cold front. Oh well:) But music does inspire memories in so many of us, doesn’t it?
    Jane – thanks for writing – and you must be back in school mode to be up so early!! Hope the rest of your school year is pleasant and the kids learn something:)
    Java – thank you for your kind words, I’m honored by your visit. Any friend of Indigo is a friend of mine!

Leave a Reply

