Six whole days of fun and frolic – YEAH RIGHT – or: Happy Birthday, Madison Anne:)


Well, I’ve had a few fun days. Let’s see, Easter Sunday was lovely. Kristin and Sonny came to church and went with us afterwards for a lunch with a group from choir – Nancy, Rennie, Donna and Tom, Sally, and moi. For days afterward, I kept hearing how much they liked Kristin and Sonny and how absolutely cute Kristin is and thoughtful and smart. I guess despite all my best efforts, she has turned out to be one amazing person. It does my heart good that others see it too.
As you can see from the Olan Mills portrait, they have grown a bunch since 1983 and 1989, LOL! And, as you can see from the pic above, we did have a traditional dinner at Easter – ham and the works and a little bit o’ vino on the side. The coffee table is a study in the familial corporate sins, LOL!
On the knitting kneedles: I am still working on Ms. Bush’s Estonian Lace Scarf from Piecework magazine, with the beautiful silk yarn I got in NYC back in January. It is a lovely, albeit slow-going lace knit. It will feel like “buttah” around anyone’s neck and I just love the color.

On the other hand, the lace tank top from Vogue is going fairly quickly – probably because it’s a heavier weight linen and because the patterns aren’t as fiddly as the other one. I’m hoping to get this one done by next week – and may even have enough for a couple of short sleeves. I have also cast on for that scarf that was supposed to be Knitty’s Henry. As you may recall, Henry hit the frog pond a week or so ago, but the yarn has been resurrected into a version of My So-Called Scarf by Allison Isaacs. I say a version, because I started it on the needles called for by the pattern, but decided to go with a much smaller set. Let’s see if the 87th time is the charm, LOL!
My little red sock is making slow progress, but that’s ok, she’s a therapy sock. I am knitting her to have something little and fun to make and timing is not of the essence, just satisfaction and fun.

I’ve joined a knitalong with my Columbia Sip ‘N Knit sisters (and brothers) for the Hemlock Ring blanket thingie by BrooklynTweed (Jared on Ravelry) I’m using some leftover brown chunky superwash wool from Plymouth- could not get ahold of Cascade’s Ecological Wool the pattern calls for – and I’m a firm believer in being able to throw a blanket into the washing mashine! And as if I didn’t have enough projects, I would like (eventually to start Lucy Neatby’s Falling Leaves Scarf. I’m thinking it might be really nice a little bit wider in white – maybe for somebody’s wedding???? It could happen – as soon as I get done with my April projects:)!

This past week has been fairly quiet on the work front. Monday I enjoyed a nice quiet evening at home. Dori, Donald, Mads and Ruby came over to share in the leftovers (thank goodness, otherwise we’d have had to throw out a bunch of food and that so bothers me.) Tuesday was also quiet – no music this week – The Boss (a/k/a SWMBO) was on a well-deserved vacation. Wednesday was my knitting group. On Thursday, I didn’t have court, so I had lunch with my high school friend, Lynne. She occasionally comes our way to pick up fabric for her quilting art – although she’s back to primarily painting. Lynne is a school psychologist (well that pays the bills – she’s really an artist). We had a lovely time – talked our heads off catching up until it was almost dark! I had to rush off for a meeting in Jessup and then finally home. Today was court in the afternoon and then home. As I type this, Dori, Donald, Madison and Ruby are celebrating Mads’ birthday at Friendly’s:) with Betsy and Kristin. I think S isn’t feeling well and J is working or out with friends – and I didn’t go because we’re doing something Sunday with the family. I now know what Mommy and Daddy got her, so we’re going to supplement that at good old TRU tomorrow:).

Well, Betsy just called – they’re stopping by to say hi, so I’m going to sign off now. Have a lovely weekend, everyone!

+

Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

6 thoughts on “Six whole days of fun and frolic – YEAH RIGHT – or: Happy Birthday, Madison Anne:)”

  1. Indigo – thanks you’re really too kind:)!
    KNitty- You have a nice one, too – enjoy Totoro:)!!
    My granddaughter I used to watch it with turned 8 and she still loves it:)!

  2. I don’t know. I think you might need another knitting project to keep you occuppied….

    It was nice to meet you in person the other night.

Leave a Reply

