A Whole Week – yikes!


Yes, I’m still around and no, I haven’t had any major problems this week – but I think the early onset of Daylight Savings Time has made me sleep about twice as much as I usually do – and without benefit of booze, LOL!
As far as work goes, last week wasn’t so busy, which, given my excessive sleeping is a good thing:)
Let’s see, to catch up – Sunday was indeed a long day – the bells played both services and we had practice between the services. I stayed with Nancy afterwards to help with moving some of the bells. We had lunch afterwards and we both headed home to our respective Sundays. As soon as I got home, John was still sleeping. I sat on the couch and almost immediately zonked out, LOL! Sunday was dinner with the family – Donald’s birthday – and it was nice to see everybody. I often take it for granted that our kids live nearby. Danny is busy with his play running in DC, so we don’t see much of him, but he’s only an hour away. Many of my friends’s kids are out of state – and not a nearby state! We really are lucky to have ours so close by.
Monday was court, Tuesday was quiet and bell prax was pre-empted by a liturgical dance service, so we had practice Wednesday. Thursday was choir and Friday I had court all day.
Not much new.

But when Friday was done, I went home and started this. It doesn’t look like much now, and the color as shown is not quite right, but I found the pattern in Vogue Knitting and it was perfect and I know just who to knit it for. I knit until the wee hours of the morning. I’m not saying here what it’s going to be, bu’t it’s really a pretty blue and it’s linen, so it looks junky and harsh – until (like linen) you wash and iron it. More to come as progress is made. I am on a very tight deadline with this.
This afternoon, I went to, among other things, a sock party. One of our Columbia Sip “N Knitters imports, dyes, and packages superwash sock yarn in some beautiful colors and I went to support her efforts. Of course I got some yarn – but only one skein – I’m on a yarn diet, LOL! Out of all the colors, I really liked the red – and started knitting a pair of socks. Using a generic pattern for the overall sock, I decided to add a little twisted stitch to the body of the sock. The color shown here is actually quite accurate. Isn’t it lovely? I’m having fun knitting these – who knows? Maybe it’ll go with the other thing – yeah right, LOL!

One really cool thing happened this week: an old friend from back in the day when we were young and poor reconnected with me – and through one of my adult kids’ MySpace pages! It was so wonderful to hear from her and get caught up! Susan has been through so much. In fact, she was a lot of inspiration for some of my work a few years back – but she has done so well for herself I should never have worried. I am so proud to know her. Whenever I feel like whining, I think of all this strong woman – and her wonderful children – have accomplished and I give myself a mental kick in the butt, LOL! I also believe in God just that much more!

Before I sign off, dear reader(s), for those of you celebrating the High Holy Days of the Judeo-Christian calendar in the weeks to come, please pray for peace and the end to violence at home and abroad.

Well, there’s one more thing I’ve got to do before I turn in – I’m going to get my choir music organized then it’s another early morning. I’ll have no trouble sleeping tonight! +

Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

4 thoughts on “A Whole Week – yikes!”

  1. Halo helped out a lot today. He did the whole first service and part of the second. He likes you. There are only two people in the whole world that he trusts and you’re one of them!

  2. I did good today, Joan. I got two warrants served on a violent, unemployed drug-addicted mother of two. With any luck, Child Protective Services will take her children away.

Leave a Reply

