Isn’t this cute? I started casting on for it – and decided to finish it, watching a bunch of old movies on Encore. Luckily I don’t have to be in court tomorrow! It’s now almost 5:30 a.m. While knitting this thing I watched an enchanting movie called “Elizabethtown” about this young guy whose father dies and he goes down south to meet his relatives. On the way, he meets this stewardess who steals his heart. She helps him grieve, you get the picture. There’s a lot more to it, but it’s a sweet flick. Especially loved his tour of the South at the end of the movie. When that was over I watched the end to “Muriel’s wedding.” I have never watched the movie in its entirety, but I LOVE the ending – when Muriel (played by Toni Colette) goes to her best friend (played by Rachel Griffiths) who is now in a wheelchair and forced to live at home and rescues her from her high school friends who don’t get her at all. They leave in a cab, shouting goodbye to the sights of their city on their way to Sydney (movie takes place in Australia – probably launched both careers). In the background is the tune “Dancing Queen” by Abba.
Abba’s songs have a lot of memories for me. They were really big in the early years of our marriage. Dancing Queen reminds me of my first job in Washington, D.C. as a paralegal in of all places an antitrust firm, getting up with morning sickness and trying to hide it from my job on a business trip to Wonderful Weehawken New Joysey; having to fly back home to see an OB/Gyn; taking LaMaze classes, going to the Christmas tree lighting, the Smithsonian, Old Alexandria, the Yippies coming to Washington; learning my way through marriage (still working on that bit) getting through nine months of pregnancy to be rewarded with my wonderful firstborn. You know how it is – before the disillusions set in that make us discover what the real thing is.
I took a peek outside a few minutes ago. It appears the weatherwoman was right – ice storm – and of course it’s right before rush hour traffic. I have an 11 a.m. appointment, but it can be reset if necessary. I hope John gets home safely. I know Nancy can at least take the day off, but I’m hoping they close the schools/colleges and courthouse. Ice is so much worse than snow and it’s not worth your life. Betsy, who works for a grocery chain, and Dori, who works in police dispatch are not going to get off that easily. Thankfully Betsy has a front-wheel drive vehicle. I know this little dusting looks a bit silly to worry over – but it’s not the snow, it’s the ice that worries me.
Well, I have a sink and part of a TV room with dishes in it that are screaming to be cleaned, so now is as good a time as any. With a little rest, I will get my paperwork done for the office, do a little research, see about that visit, and get some real knitting done:)
Have a lovely day, everyone! +
Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

Leave a Reply

