Ein Feste Burg ist Unser Gott and Wow!


Since last I wrote, the weekend ended with a positively wonderful performance by Nancy at the Bach Marathon. It was really something to watch her play. I asked her how it was she had three legs, LOL. For those of you who know your Bach, her choice of pieces were Prelude and Fugue in A Minor, BWV 543; Three Schuebler Chorales: Wer nur den lieben Gott laesst walten, BWV 647, Meine Seele erhalt den Herren, BWV 648, Kommst Du nun, Jesu von Himmel herunter, BWV 650; and Komm, heiliger Geist, BWV 651. Before she got there, I was starting to doze off, having done all the knitting I could (ironically on the first sleeve of her sweater and Diane’s scarf). There was an excellent performance by Theodore (Ted) Davis of St. Bartholomew’s in Baltimore on the harpsichord. However, Nancy did wake up the crowd. I have to laugh; I kept thinking – wow – I know her, LOL. Tom and Donna H. were also there, as were Nancy’s hubby, Rennie and two cousins of his. Tom did the page turning (God love him – that would be more nervewracking for me than playing. I can safely say that a good time was had by all:) Dinner and great coversation later made for a lovely evening.

Had an interesting experience earlier in the day on Sunday. I’ve posted before about a fellow bell-ringer who has a blog I visit regularly. This fellow, Indigo (I’m not posting his real name), is a survivor of severe childhood abuse that resulted in the awful and at once life-preserving shattering of the ego that is DID – or dissociative identity disorder. There are all sorts of experts who debate whether this is real. For Indigo it is, so he doesn’t really concern himself with the debates. He is integrated, but has moments when the stress of life weakens the structure of his personality from time to time. Indigo also sings tenor. When the bells play on our one Sunday of the month, we play both services – one with the adult choir (and yes, I put on my roller skates and run back and forth in the gallery) and the other with just the bell choir. Those of us in the bell choir will sing the choral parts, obviously with fewer voices. Indigo and I shared a hymnal for the recessional hymn. You can probably guess which one it was – Good old No. 688:
A Mighty Fortress is Our God
A mighty fortress is our God, a bulwark never failing;
Our helper he amid the flood of mortal ills prevailing;
For still our ancient foe doth seek to work us woe;
His craft and power great, and, armed with cruel hate,
On earth is not his equal.

Did we in our own strength confide,

Our striving would be losing;
Were not the right man on our side,
The man of God’s own choosing:
Dost ask who that may be? Christ Jesus, it is he;
Lord Sabaoth his Name, from age to age the same,
And he must win the battle.

And though this world, with devils filled,

Should threaten to undo us;
We will not fear, for God hath willed
His truth to triumph through us;
The Prince of Darkness grim, we tremble not for him;
His rage we can endure, for lo! his doom is sure,

One little Word shall fell him.

That Word above all earthly powers,
No thanks to them, abideth;
The Spirit and the gifts are ours
Through Him who with us sideth;
Let goods and kindred go, this mortal life also;
The body they may kill; God’s truth abideth still,
His Kingdom is forever.
Hearing Indigo singing this brought tears to my eyes. And still small voice inside of me said, “If you never believed in Me, believe now.”I leave that one to you to figure out, but there it was.

On the knitting front, I am in the home stretch for Nancy’s sweater and will have it done before long. The business of earning a living prevents me from spending all day on knitting and I suppose that’s a good thing. I’ve also started crocheting a very simple baby blankie – well, hoping to get three done for the triplets – but we’ll see how that goes.
Tonight we have bell choir prax and if all goes well, a little valentine’s day mini party, which should entail viewing an episode of The Vicar of Dibley! I’m borrowing John’s DVD player in case the VHR player doesn’t do it. Thanks, Gavver!
In the meantime, it’s back to work for me! I’ve got a pile of paperwork to bring to the office and a visit or two to do before then and others to arrange before all the fun tonight!
Bis spaeter!
+
Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

2 thoughts on “Ein Feste Burg ist Unser Gott and Wow!”

Leave a Reply

