Chillin’


Hi – just hacking around (oops, not a good word on the internet is it?). That’s what we used to say in the olden days when I was in high school (somewhere between the Stone Age and the Renaissance). The picture at left is the northwest corner of my desk at home – I say “my” desk, but it’s something John brought from home to his first “bachelor pad” after he left home to live on his own. It actually belonged to a priest named Avery Range – a friend of John’s parents. Father Range actually spent weekends with John’s family and added a room onto their house for just that purpose. I imagine that’s what happens to those who take a vow of celibacy as they start to grow older and family members die off. I’m glad John’s family was there for him. Sadly, Father Range died of a heart attack a short time before John’s father did the same thing, except that John’s dad left behind a fairly young wife and nine (yes nine) children. So believe it or not, although this desk has been through the wars, it’s a fine old thing, and I try to treat it with respect. although I never knew Father Range, or John’s father for that matter, I did know his mother and she certainly deserved my respect if not my agreement in everything;). My use of this desk also speaks of the generosity of spirit that is my husband.
One more day of court this week – why not round it out to all five, LOL! Of course nothing’s easy, but then that’s why they pay me the big bucks (!)
Well, I’m a bit tired – not much sleep last night. again. I do want to make it to kwar prax, so I’m going to sit on the couch, chill and do me some knitting.
+
Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

2 thoughts on “Chillin’”

  1. HAHAHA Good one!
    Joan
    Can’t wait for the weekend to start – I’m really finally feeling the progress on the Katharine Hepburn sweater!
    whoo hooo~

Leave a Reply

