I’m working I’m working


I am in a frantic rush right now, but my last two posts were somewhat of a throwaway – hell it’s just too easy to rebuke the “Rev.” Fred and what neurotic middle-aged woman doesn’t like Stuart Smalley? So, I felt I owed it to you, gentle readers to show you what came in the mail yesterday

three skeins – no not skeins what do they call them when you have to wind them? – of KnitPicks Shadow – one in Sunset and two in Lost Lake Heather. I’ve taken pics in different lighting. I think they’ll make lovely scarves – I’m not much for shawls – but this is so soft and pretty. Cannot wait to knit with it!

OK, back to work!+

Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

4 thoughts on “I’m working I’m working”

  1. YES! That’s the word I was looking for! A good friend from Choir and Bell choir actually e-mailed me with some good references on the difference between the term “hank” and “skein.” So thanks, Barry E. for the following, in which he writes,

    “I looked up “hank,” and that works too, especially since one of my dictionaries gives as the first definition (guess where this is going): “1. a skein, as of thread or yarn.” Another says, “a coil or loop” and goes on in the derivation: “[Middle English, from Scandinavian, akin to Old Norse honk, hank, skein.]” The first one gives basically the same derivation.

    So I yanked out my BIG dictionary, which says for “hank” “A coil, loop, or ring esp. of rope: as a. [something not relevant] b: a coiled or looped bundle (as of yarn, rope, wire) usu. containing a definite yardage < a ~ of cotton yarn contains 840 yards >–. . . compare SKEIN.” (It gives the same derivation as the other two dictionaries, using “skein” to define the word.) So, I went to compare “skein” as directed, and it says: “a loosely coiled length of yarn or thread wound on a reel in lengths suitable for a manufacturing process (as dyeing) or for sale as knitting wool or embroidery floss; also: such a bundle containing a given amount — compare HANK.” (Underlining mine.)

    And so, who knows? Obviously, they mean the same thing, but maybe somewhere in the distant mists of time knitters made a distinction between wool that was loosely coiled on a reel and wool that wasn’t loosely coiled on a reel even though they didn’t have to.

    I believe this could be a good project for you: Find a historian of wool or knitting who knows the answer.

    http://www.knittersreview.com/forum/topic.asp?ARCHIVE=true&TOPIC_ID=5896

    Finding an historian on wool or knitting, Hmmmm I bet we all know a few (dozen!) – I bet Cat Bordhi is one of them – and let’s not forget Jean Feitelson’s erudition on the topic of Fair Isle knitting – and there’s always the offspring of the late great Elizabeth Zimmerman.

    Can anyone think of anybody else?

  2. Well, thanks for that explanation, both of you! I’ve been using the wrong word all this time … sigh.

    Great booty, Joan!

Leave a Reply

