For All the Saints


Honey, does this sweater make me look fat?
Ask me if I care! As if a sweater could make me look any bigger than I already am, LOL! Actually no, dear, your A$$ makes you look fat, LOL. Hey, at least I should get credit for having the balls to pose in the thing. Seriously though, I actually kind of like it and one of my daughters did, too.
Well, Cables and Os is finally done. Fertig, Fini, Finito! do I hear a hallelujah? As you can see from the picture in the distance, it presents better in some shots than in others. But I like it. It’s wild and crazy, just like Madison’s crrrrazy mom-mom! Like most cardigans, I like it better open than shut. And it’s just perfect for those not hot/not cold days where you just can’t go around without something on.
So there!
Ok, now I’ve got another 425,857 projects to go. Thanks be to God.
I am typing this before heading back to St. John’s for our All Saint’s Evensong service. I love Evensong – because it’s in the evening, it’s full of song (DUH) and the music is always heartrending. We are singing a lot of the same things from the Friday night service at the Baltimore Cathedral with a few exceptions. I’m ringing the first two pieces and singing the rest.
Friday was hard, but I kept busy. The toughest part was when we sang the Song for Athene – it was the piece they sang at Princess Diana’s funeral – the build-up started in the organ’s pedal point, the switch from minor to major and back again – it is devastatingly beautiful when done right. We got a lot of compliments – and a lot of silence when it was over. Hard to hold back the tears. We are also singing a Magnificat and a Nunc Dimittus and the old standby hymns.
Today is more of the same, but more generic – for all those we have lost in death. And the older I get, the greater the number. I can understand why when someone reaches a certain age, they don’t dread death so much. How lonely it must be sometimes to be 100 years old!
Oh, and lest I forget – we found out Friday that my Dad, former WABC discjockey and former WCBS-FM DJ Dan Ingram was to be inducted into the National Radio Hall of Fame in Chicago on Saturday. My brother, Chris, heard a broadcast on WABC and told me he left them laughing. If you want to see pics, hear some airchecks, you can find them here. Congratulations, Dad! You still rock:) But we already knew that!

So today, think about the people you have loved and lost. If you feel so moved, say a prayer – for them if your tradition allows it, or to God in thanksgiving for them if that’s your thing. Whoever it is, I believe more than anything else, that he or she is and was precious and unique in the eyes of our Creator. In fact, I think I believe that above a lot of things.
I’m going to leave you with the words of this hymn we are singing at the end of our service. For you Episcopalians, it’s in Wonder Love & Praise, No. 801. Words by Jeremiah Eames Rankin (1828-1904) and music by Ralph Vaughn Williams (1872-1958):
God Be With You Till We Meet Again
God be with you till we meet again;
By wise counsels guide, uphold you,
With the sheep securely fold you:
God be with you till we meet again.
God be with you till we meet again;
‘Neath bright wings protecting hide you,
Daily manna still provide you:
God be with you till we meet again.
God be with you till we meet again;
When life’s perils thick confound you,
Put strong arms unfailing round you:
God be with you till we meet again.
God be with you till we meet again;
Keep love’s banner floating o’er you,
Smite death’s threat’ning wave before you:
God be with you till we meet again.
++++++++
From one who has been soprano, alto and tenor, no particular religion to Catholic to Episcopal, God bless you all – and your loved ones, near and far, in this world and the next!
+
Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

9 thoughts on “For All the Saints”

  1. I think the sweater makes you look beautiful! KUDOS to you for putting in the work, the dedication and having the courage to pose in it as well. As for me, well let us say I’m just not that courageous but I do make recipients pose for many a picture in the hand knits they bed for.

    KNIT ON!

  2. I love the sweater on you, it’s really pretty! I’m sorry I’ve been kind of quiet, computer is down, i’m going thru withdrawal, looking for a new computer. I’m so happy you got your package and liked it! There’s another going to be on it’s way….well soon, can’t commit to when just now!

  3. thanks secret pal:) I have to get going on my October pkg for mine. YIKES!!! so don’t worry about me, LOL!!!
    Micky – thank you for your kind words:)

  4. Those are lovely lyrics, Joan!

    Our Armistice/Remembrance Day is coming up next week – I will be thinking about that then.

    In the meantime (not to make light), I’ve been playing dress up again – this time, Carmen Miranda! (on the blog, posted today)

    cheers,

    kb

  5. Oh – it crashed on me before I could say – lovely job on the cables and o’s and it looks very, very well on you!

Leave a Reply

