I am #10212 on the list! Whoo Hoo!


When I went to that lookup thingie on ravelry.com this morning (and yes, I do check about twice a day, LOL!), this is what I learned about my current status in the “list.”

You signed up on June 20, 2007
You are #10212 on the list.
972 people are ahead of you in line.
16035 people are behind you in line.
35% of the list has been invited so far

How many people are behind me on line I look at as a red herring. I’m not pushing in front of anyone, thank you – I’m just waiting my turn in line like the rest of the “have-nots.” It’s getting tough out there. My knitting meetup is split between ravelry haves (those who have gotten their invitation-like-the-gold-coupon-in-the-wonka-bar-wrapper) and have-nots (those who have not) and boy, is it tense whenever the topic comes up (and it’s sure to do so, since ravelry in the knitting world is starting to become a verb as google has in the world at large).

But I’m cool. I’ll just chill until my day arrives. The way I figure it is this: If I signed up on June 20th, and I’m 10212 on the list and there are 972 people ahead of me, then 9,240 people have already been invited since June 20th. It has been 10 +31 +18 days since I signed up, or 59 days. Soooo, on average, Ravelry has issued approximately 156 invitations per day, so if they keep up this average rate, I should be hearing from them in about a week. Let’s see if it happens, LOL:)

I understand Ravelry is being run by a newly married husband and wife team who have both quit their day jobs as it were and are going to be doing this on a full-time basis. Good for them! They’re young, and they’re smart. They saw a need and they’re filling it. I wish them all the best:) and hurry up already, LOL!

In other knitting news, StitchayWoman wrote on her blog,

“I saw this over on a blog called Knitstant Gratification (worth a visit: http://knitstantgratification.wordpress.com/) and it immediately caught my fancy. ”

It caught mine too, so here goes:

Mark with bold the things you have ever knit, with italics the ones you plan to do sometime, and leave the rest.

• Afghan
• I-cord

• Garter stitch

• Knitting with metal wire

• Shawl

• Stockinette stitch

• Socks: top-down

•Socks: toe-up In fact, I finished my first one of a pair last night: Here’s a pic or two:

• Knitting with camel yarn

• Mittens: Cuff-up

• Mittens: Tip-down

• Hat• Knitting with silk

• Moebius band knitting

• Participating in a KAL

• Sweater

• Drop stitch patterns

• Knitting with recycled/secondhand yarn

• Slip stitch patterns

• Knitting with banana fiber yarn

• Domino knitting

• Twisted stitch patterns

• Knitting with bamboo yarn

• Two end knitting

• Charity knitting

• Knitting with soy yarn

• Cardigan

• Toy/doll clothing

• Knitting with circular needles (hell yeah!)

• Baby items

• Knitting with your own handspun

• Slippers

• Graffiti knitting

• Continental knitting (pretty much always)

• Designing knitted garments

• Cable stitch patterns

• Lace patterns

• Publishing a knitting book

• Scarf

• Teaching a child to knit

• American/English knitting

• Knitting to make money

• Buttonholes

• Knitting with alpaca

• Fair Isle knitting

• Norwegian knitting (Do the Dalegarn patterns count??)

• Dying with plant colors

• Knitting items for a wedding

• Household items

• Knitting socks (or other small tubular items)on two circulars

• Olympic knitting

• Knitting with someone else’s handspun yarn

• Knitting with dpns

• Holiday-related knitting

• Teaching a male how to knit (Jesse Ishikawa, Middlebury College, 1972)

• Bobbles

• Knitting for a living

• Knitting with cotton

• Knitting smocking

• Dying yarn

• Steeks

• Knitting art

• Knitting two socks on two circulars simultaneously

• Fulling/felting

• Knitting with wool

• Textured knitting

• Kitchener BO

• Purses/bags

• Knitting with beads

• Swatching

• Long Tail CO

• Entrelac

• Knitting and purling backwards

• Machine knitting

• Knitting with self patterning/self striping/variegating yarn

• Stuffed toys

• Knitting with cashmere

• Darning

• Jewelry

• Knitting with synthetic yarn

• Writing a pattern

• Gloves

• Intarsia

• Knitting with linen In fact, the Cables and Os cardigan has two color stripes that are linen blends and I think I’ll use the reddish pink stripe at double width (it’s random, so why not). Think this cardigan will make me look fat, LOL:)))!!! (note the triple chins on the smile emoticon, LOL):

• Knitting for preemies (someday maybe)

• Tubular CO

• Freeform knitting

• Short rows

• Cuffs/fingerless mitts/armwarmers

• Pillows

• Knitting a pattern from an online knitting magazine

• Rug

• Knitting on a loom

• Thrummed knitting

• Knitting a gift

• Knitting for pets

• Shrug/bolero/poncho (If you count the baby blanket that turned into a child-sized poncho for Madison)

• Knitting with dog/cat hair – no thanks!

• Hair accessories

• Knitting in public

**************************************************

Today is Saturday – and I have the strangest feeling that there is something I’m supposed to be doing today – visiting a client? I don’t have anything on my calendar which frankly worries me, LOL. Ah well, I’ll find out soon enough. Everyone know how to get ahold of me.

This coming week, I’m going to do my darndest to get things ready so that when I leave town it will not be with a bunch of lose ends to darn in. (Especially since if you read the above list, you will note I have not yet darned, but would like to learn!). One more week of real summer, then a four-day conference, then a few days off to catch up on things around the house, good Lord willing and the creek don’t rise as Mr. Watts used to say! It should be a challenge as our firm’s managing attorney will be in the hospital. He’s a great guy and a good man and I wish him good health! He had a bit of a scare but thankfully the docs have figured out the problem and he’s getting treated, so thank God!

Oh dear, I just remembered, there’s a wake for my co-worker’s brother I’m supposed to go to. Better get moving!+

Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

5 thoughts on “I am #10212 on the list! Whoo Hoo!”

  1. Don’t worry about Ravelry–good things come to those that wait. I was feeling the same and wondered if it was worth the wait.

    I enjoy your blog very much.

  2. After seeing the webshots, including the search function, it appears it will be very much worth the wait. Haven’t heard any complaints from the “haves” yet:)
    Take care,
    joan

  3. I joined the list about 10 days before you – and have been a member for about 5 days now… I love it. In addition to tracking all you want to do, are doing and your stash and library, there are some wonderful groups you can join. Lots of sharing, lots of photos – very worth the wait.

    Hope to see you there soon!

  4. Awww thanks Gail for the encouragement! I am really looking forward to it. Although not the most organized of people, this may help me to become more so with regard to my fiber stuff:) Who knows – it may spread to other areas of my life (GASP).
    Thanks – I am happy with anticipation. The only thing is I may not be able to respond right away to the invitation unless I can get some sort of internet access at the hotel where I am staying – will be at a conference around the time I figure I’ll get it. Whatever, it’ll be what it’ll be!
    Joan

Leave a Reply

