What Can I Say? It’s August


August for me is like the passageway between reflection and action; the old and the new – a chance to catch up and fall further behind at the same time; to do things I haven’t done in a while and to just continue living. How was that for vague? And yet it must be. From the time I was a kid, I awaited summer with great anticipation in June, but by the dry, sunbaked days of August I was ready for school. Of course I didn’t admit this to anyone. That would’ve violated one of the sacred rules of childhood and linked me too closely with my parents and grandparents.

This past week has been Augustian in all its glory. 100-degree days followed by relatively mild and breezy 80s and 90s (Fahrenheit, LOL!). An occasional promising raincloud followed by enough rain to tease us, but not quite satisfy. Even the court dockets are pared down somewhat: the usually crowded CINA docket is fairly light this week and next – or at least it seems that way to me. Even the most cantankerous of kids is mellowing out as he or she plots their revenge on yet another foster parent or dysfunctional family member.

That will come in September. It always does. And my September looks to be a gathering tornado of activity. Professionally, I have two appeals, which means one brief and another Statement of Facts for the poor guy who’s handling the second appeal. At some point in the autumn, I will be arguing my first appellate case and I am nervous (of course!!!) and relishing the anticipation at the same time. At the same time, I will be continuing (I hope) to represent my clients in CINA court and hope to employ what I hope to learn at the Beyond Finding Words conference in Atlantic City at the end of August.
On the personal front, good Lord willing and the creek don’t rise, I’m back for year three of EfM and looking forward to see what direction(s) in which Tom takes us as a group. Choir is of course a given:) and this year I’m going to do my best not to screw up bell choir. It’s the first time for me. Much like the appeals, I’m anxious and excited to be learning something new. So three nights a week (and Sundays) I’ll be involved in some activity or learning process (or both) and managing my time will be my greatest challenge.

My Dad always said (and his mother and dad said to him), “If you want something done, ask the busy [wo]man.” I guess my goal for the next 12 months is to be the busy [wo]man who gets things done.

Where have I been the last 8 days or so? Working, doing visits with clients, knitting with some new friends and acquaintances and working again. I’d like to say I’ve been doing wash and cleaning every day because my home needs it, but nope. I have this nightmare that a huge monster shaped like dirty underwear and dustbunnies strangles me in my sleep. Can you imagine the headlines? Ah the shame!

Anyhoo…. yesterday I went to church to sit up in the gallery again and it was fine. Luckily Nancy M. (a soprano who is the epitome of capable and effective – she has to be, she’s an elementary school secretary!) and Frances K. (an alto who is also an engineer and a sweetheart) were already there (THANK GOD!!!!). We were treated again to Rosemary Beales’ preaching style. She has a beautiful voice – and used it, this time singing excerpts from John Lennon’s “Imagine.” She has a brilliant writing style which of course shows forth in her homilies. Rosemary began her sermon with an illustration of two little children not really playing with each other because they had too many toys. Their mother boxed up a majority of their toys so they could see what they had in front of them, use their imagination, and play well together. Extrapolating to the problem of poverty and God’s command to the wealthy young man to sell all he had and give to the poor, NOW, Rosemary reminded us of what we are hanging on to. These things – our toys, if you will – obscure the real meaning of our lives and prevent us from really seeing what we have in front of us, using our imaginations and really “playing” together. My poor extract doesn’t do her justice. I think you can actually read some of Rosemary’s sermons at the church website, if you’re curious as to what I’m talking about: http://www.stjohnsec.org/

After church, I had breakfast with Diane L. at the local diner and boy did I eat too much! Had FAR too many carbs and sinned ever so deliciously, but I guess that was part of summer for me. It was nice catching up with Diane and getting to know her and her family history better. It’s always amazing to me how people’s histories are always interesting. I guess I’ve got a mutation of that Will Rogers gene – never met someone who didn’t have something interesting about them.

After brunch, I set off to visit a couple of our firm’s clients in a group home on the Eastern Shore – practically to Salisbury, which is not terribly far from Ocean City. It was a bright sunny day, as this shot of my return trip over the Chesapeake Bay Bridge will attest. It was a lazy summer Sunday yet I got a lot of my phone calls returned whilst in the car and the trip appeared to take no time at all. The most breathtaking view of the entire trip was from the Severn River Bridge in the Annapolis area. The sun was bright, the sky and water were a beautiful azure blue and the water was dotted with the graceful flowing presences of sailboats. Heading back home in a westward direction, a brief glance south toward the Chesapeake revealed a series of bridges over water and sailboats, surrounded by some awe-inspiring waterfront estates. Unfortunately, safety concerns precluded any picture taking at that point. Wish I could have preserved that view. Someday I will, but someone else will have to be driving!

While on the road, I managed to enlist John’s aid in getting the ingredients for dinner, so when I returned, I was ready to go – baked chicken in butter, olive oil, rosemary and basil (thyme plant was shriveled in the sun – am trying to revive it); “real” mashed potatoes, tomato, mozzarella and basil salad. Kristin and Sonny brought the birthday cake for Betsy – who turns 26 tomorrow (Happy Birthday, Betsy!) and of course there was an assortment of interesting things to drink (including apple juice for the little folks and stronger stuff for the rest of us).

The “kids” ended the evening with a poker game and John and I went to bed early and crashed. I felt like a little kid, listening to the grownups downstairs talking, LOL. It’s nice when the “kids” are grown. I’m enjoying this phase of life, so far.

On the knitting front:
Although I did finish the “Booga Bag” with the Noro yarn, and gave it to Dori (sorry, gave it away before I could take a picture), there’s not a whole lot of additional length on the Cables and Os sweater. And no, that is NOT just the back, LOL! I’m a bit of a “wide load” for sure, but not half the couch – that would be the right side, back and left side – I HOPE!

This morning, I was at the office and then had a very much needed hearing for three older clients of mine (remember for me “older” means between 10 and 21 years old, LOL!). The Master really got it and wanted to do the right thing for these kids and their older sister who has been caring for them for almost a year now, seeing that they eat, have a place to live and clothes to wear and are in school and sports and other after school activities and she not much older than they are! So often we don’t realize how so many of our fellow human beings live right in our own communities!

Well, I’ve got some paperwork to finish and a birthday card to buy. Auf Wiedersehen, Au Revoir, прощание, vaya con Dios…you get the picture+

Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

2 thoughts on “What Can I Say? It’s August”

  1. for some reason clicking on the photo does not bring up a larger version. However, i realised it was the same garment as further down and that showed me a larger one. it is looking good. Much work!

  2. Thank you Knitman, sir! I take that as high praise from you!
    Hope things are well with you on the nice side of the Atlantic!
    hugs,
    Joan a/k/a FSK

Leave a Reply

