Two Down – Seven to Go!


Well, the Hexagonal Shawl adapted from MaryJane Butters’ book, MaryJane’s Stitching Room is done! I had all the motifs done by Thursday afternoon and had hoped to get the finishing- i.e. sewing together and blocking/ironing done by Thursdays’ choir practice, but it was not to be. Thursday afternoon consisted of going to Baltimore City’s Juvenile Justice Center to take part in a delinquency hearing for one of my clients. I’m very happy to say that she’s doing a lot better and finally is in touch with a wonderful group called MDChoices. They have such a positive approach to kids and their needs! For the first time in a long while, I have real hope for this client.

So… I finished the shawl Thursday after choir practice and stayed up until about 3:30 AM to finish it. You know how it is, once you get done with something, your curiosity won’t let you rest until it’s finished. The shawl is basically four Hexagonal scarves sewn together rows of 7 and 6 (each motif is approximately 10 inches width/height, so it ends up being 70″x 40″ – more than ample coverage for a petite 5’3″ woman, I hope!)

Anyway, here are pictures of the shawl:
I was so nervous about it, that I actually sent pics to a mutual friend, Diane, to get her opinion. I never know how someone’s taste runs, although I do know that the color is pretty close to the dress Nancy will be wearing to the wedding. In the long run, though, I tell myself it doesn’t matter. Objectively speaking, the piece is pretty and I have no doubt that Nancy or someone in her family could use it for something, so the work isn’t lost or wasted, LOL!

Also completed is the prayer shawl. I did not take another picture of that, since the most recent picture isn’t too much different than what was posted last week. But it’s done and now someone else can use it and can take it as a sign from our faith community that we are with them in their time of need or joy!

I actually frogged the wave cable shawl and decided to make a simple vest or tank top out of the 1300 or so yards of that handspun/handdyed yarn from the Sheep and Wool Festival – only because I am working on so many shawls/blankies this summer, that I needed to do something different.
On other fronts, next week I am “it” again for the county office – my two co-workers are on vacation until mid-week. I have so many meetings outside of court, that I think my car will be on automatic pilot. Luckily, there’s not a lot going on in court. One thing they’re starting in our jurisdiction is the “Family Team Decision Making” thing where before a child is moved – either removed from a home or foster placement – a team consisting of the various stakeholders in the decision meet to see if there is anything that can be done to prevent it. Given that the constant moving around for kids in care contributes to so many of their difficulties – failure to bond and form lasting relationships and educational setbacks are two of the biggies – this is a good thing if it works. However, it just becomes one more thing I need to be able to do at a moment’s notice. Ah well, that’s why they pay me the big bucks, LOL! Not that I’m complaining, believe me. (Did I tell you I truly truly love my job?)
We’re heading into the last month of summer. August. In the first three weeks, I will get caught up on any paperwork and reading and practicing and knitting I need to do. And I will get ready for the conference in Atlantic City at the end of the month – my week off. John may be coming with me for part of the conference, which is nice. I plan to learn as much as I can about interviewing children. The more I do this job, the more I realize how little I know, so this will be helpful, I’m sure.
Well, onward to the wash and other fun Saturday activities:)+
Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

6 thoughts on “Two Down – Seven to Go!”

  1. Having worked for DHS in another state, the team decision making does sound like it can be a really good thing. If it can prevent bouncing these kids from here to there and back again, it would be great.

    The wedding shawl/gift looks terrific! It’s been some time since I’ve done any patterns of that type – and I’m not sure my eyes could take it again.

  2. Thanks so much – you are very kind. It’s funny how stressed out I get about knitting or crocheting something for somebody else. I never know how it’s going to be received. While I’m making the thing, I get caught up in the process of creating it and enjoy that, but it’s quite something else to give it to them. I hope she’ll be pleased with it and that it is something she can actually use, LOL!
    Thanks again,
    Joan a/k/a FSK

  3. Thanks, Gail – I agree that even if one child can avoid being re-placed or if there’s a way to think outside of the box to preven removal (for reasons other than abuse and neglect) it will be worth the extra effort!
    Take care,
    Joan

  4. Thanks for your kind words, DotComMom! I will try to behave myself, then, LOL!
    Take care and enjoy the rest of your weekend!
    Joan

Leave a Reply

