Happy Birthday, USA!


I am one of those liberals. I love my homeland. Because I love my homeland, I can understand why others love theirs. It represents so many things I hold dear. But I want so much for it to become even better – to reach its full potential as a country truly for everyone in it. So I’m including some quotations from people I have admired. The pictures are all culled from the internet and represent different parts of the U.S. Happy Independence Day for all Americans and Happy Canada day a few days late for my friends in Canada and Happy Bastille Day to my friends in France. If I have missed your country’s holiday, please comment here so that I can know what it is. Thank you and God bless us ALL!
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting“I have sworn upon the altar of God, eternal hostility against every form of tyranny over the mind of man.” Thomas Jefferson, 23 September 1800.

“I cannot and will not cut my conscience to fit this year’s fashions, even though I long ago came to the conclusion that I was not a political person and could have no comfortable place in any political group.” Lillian Hellman, 19 May 1952
She also wrote in Scoundrel Time, “Truth made you a traitor, as it often does in a time of scoundrels.”
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting “Render unto Caesar that which is Caesar’s. Render unto God that which is God’s. Jesus of Nazareth ca 38 AD

“You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face… You must do the thing you think you cannot do.” Eleanor Roosevelt, 1960Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting“These unhappy times call for the building of plans that rest upon the fogotten, the unorganized but the indispensible units of economic power, for plans like those of 1917 [horrors!!!] that build from the bottom up and not from the top down, that put their faith once more in the forgotten man at the bottom of the economic pyramid.” Franklin D. Roosevelt, 7 April 1932.

and [Love this one]:

“When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a [wo]man, I put away childish things. For now we see as through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known. And now remains faith, hope, love, these three; but the greatest of these is love.” I Corinthians 13:11-13.

+

“The first theory is that if we make the rich richer, somehow they will let a part of their prosperity trickle down to the rest of us. The second theory… was the theory that if we make the average of mankind comfortable and secure, their prosperity will rise upward…through the ranks.” FDR, 2 October 1932
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting “For those to whom much is given, much is required. And when at some future date the high court of history sits in judgment on each of us – recording whether in our brief span of service we fulfilled our responsibilities to the state – our success or failure, in whatever office we hold, will be measured by the answers to four questions: First, were we truly [wo]men of courage…. Secondly, were we truly [wo]men of judgment…. Third, were we truly [wo]men of integrity…. Finally, were we truly [wo]men of dedication.” John F. Kennedy, 9 January 1961.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting “Ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country.” John F. Kennedy, inaugural address 1961

“Keep the faith, baby!” Adam Clayton Powell, 1967Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting “If a man walk in the woods for love of them half of each day, he is in danger of being regarded as a loafer; but if he spends his whole day as a speculator, shearing off those woods and making earth bald before her time, he is esteemed as an industrious and enterprising citizen. As if the town had no interest in its forests but to cut them down! Henry Thoreau, “Life Without Principle” 1861
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
“Our hearts are broken, but they are beating, and they are beating stronger than ever. We choose to live our lives in freedom.” Rudolph W. Giuliani, “Saturday Night Live” 29 September 2001 (He also said when asked about the number of casualties in New York City on 9/11/01: “More than any of us can bear.”)
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting “What factors are at play, for example, when people of high IQ flounder and those of modest IQ do surprisingly well? I would argue that the difference quite often lies in the abilities called here emotional intelligence, which include self-control, zeal and persistence and the ability to motivate oneself.” Daniel Goleman, PhD, 1995

“I have a dream tonight. One day my little daughter and my two sons will grow up in a world not conscious of the color of their skin but only conscious of the fact that they are members of the human race.” Martin Luther King, Jr., 27 November 1962 Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting“Any woman who chooses to behave like a full human being should be warned that the armies of the status quo will treat her as something of a dirty joke. That’s their natural and first weapon. She will need her sisterhood.” Gloria Steinem, Ms. Spring, 1972

“We don’t want so much to see a female Einstein become an assistant professor. We want a woman schlemiel to get promoted as quickly as a male schlemiel.” Bella Abzug, 25 April 1977Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting “We the people of the United States, in order to form a more perfect union, establish justice, ensure domestic tranquility, provide for the common defense and to secure the blessings of liberty to ourselves and our posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution of the United States of America.” preamble to the US Constitution, 1789 [committed to memory by my 6th grade class, Bermingham Elementary School, Oyster Bay, NY 1966, our teacher was Norman Herzlich. If I’ve missed any of it, please let me know, LOL!]

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting “It was we, the people, not we, the white male citizens, nor yet we, the male citizens, but we, the whole people, who formed this Union. And we formed it, not to give the blessings of liberty, but to secure them; not to the half of ourselves, and the half of our posterity, but to the whole people — women as well as men.” Susan B. Anthony 17 June 1873 [in a Rochester court after being convicted of attempting to vote!]

“When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a [wo]man, I put away childish things. For now we see as through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known. And now remains faith, hope, love, these three; but the greatest of these is love.” I Corinthians 13:11-13.

+

Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

4 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, USA!”

  1. Finally got connected to internet in my new place and am catching up on the blogs I read.
    This is fantastic! I love the way you put it together. I’m also surprised and a bit disappointed that you didn’t have more comments on it – or additions.

    “this land is your land; this land is my land. From California to the New York Islands…” Woody Guthrie

    “I will lift mine eyes to the hills from whence cometh my help.”

    I’m bad on where in the Bible a particular verse comes from – but that is one of my favorites.

  2. Finally got connected to internet in my new place and am catching up on the blogs I read.
    This is fantastic! I love the way you put it together. I’m also surprised and a bit disappointed that you didn’t have more comments on it – or additions.

    “this land is your land; this land is my land. From California to the New York Islands…” Woody Guthrie

    “I will lift mine eyes to the hills from whence cometh my help.”

    I’m bad on where in the Bible a particular verse comes from – but that is one of my favorites.

  3. Gail, thank you so much – and I love your quotes – would love to hear the favorites of others as well. Especially love the Woodie Guthrie quote – and can understand how you would feel about looking to the hills for inspiration, sustenance and hope.
    Thank you so much!
    Joan

  4. Gail, thank you so much – and I love your quotes – would love to hear the favorites of others as well. Especially love the Woodie Guthrie quote – and can understand how you would feel about looking to the hills for inspiration, sustenance and hope.
    Thank you so much!
    Joan

Leave a Reply

