I am so FICKLE!!


Now I know why Stephanie Pearl-McPhee calls herself the Yarn Harlot. I am the knitting Whore! Cannot stay with one project at a time. I think perhaps a kinder – and more accurate – way to describe my crafting mania might be PADD – or Project Attention Deficit Disorder. I can be deep into a project and get so distracted by the next cute thing that comes along. One can really really relate to Vickie Howell’s response to Jenna Adorno’s statement on one of the episodes of Knitty Gritty about being monogamous and sticking with one project at a time until it’s finished. Vickie’s response was something in the nature of “I don’t even speak your language.” Ah how true!
Remember that blue shawl I was going to make? The teal version is sitting on a stitch holder because the color wasn’t quite right. That one? Then I re-started it in a lighter blue yarn I have in my stash (see my last blog entry). Yeah well, I saw a beautiful lacy scarf made by crocheting hexagonal motifs together and I was hooked (no pun intended). I’ve already done two motifs am on the third and I think I’m going to do the shawl this way. Oh Lord, is there no hope for me? One good thing: I am pretty sure I have enough yarn already and it is going a lot faster once I get into the rhythm of the motifs – only 7 rounds apiece.
OK, technically it’s not knitting but it’s lacy and it’s pretty and it’s fiber arts. What can I tell you? And it could kinda sorta qualify for a NSFY (No Sheep for You) project except that the pattern comes from MaryJane’s Stitching Room by MaryJane Butters, a “farm girl” from Utah with a limitless supply of talent and crafting skills, linking us to those generations who came before. She also happens to be my age, LOL.
Here’s where I stand currently – and again, the blue is just not showing well on this camera – sorry! But that’s a lot of lacy beginnings for one evening’s work, even with all the stopping and starting at the beginning of any project. I figure if I can keep this up, by the end of July I’ll be done. God willing…
OK, I’m off to do my Saturday errands and then get my dear hubby up with a cup o’Joe so he can start his all -too-long workday!
Until later….
+


Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

2 thoughts on “I am so FICKLE!!”

  1. Doug always plans on knitting but he usually just buys the yarn and that’s it. I’m aways tempted to suggest that he sell all these yarn balls on ebay.

  2. Doug knits! How cool is that! I would be happy to sit and knit with him any time I can. There are a number of “stitch ‘n bitch” or knitting meetups in your area, too. I can find one for him if you like.
    Joan a/k/a FSK

Leave a Reply

