Saddiday


Let’s see, what’s new? Manned a table at the college fair for the alma mater. A not very well attended event – a bunch of tables in a relatively small space and I suspect there had not been much advance notice to the public. But happened to be at the table next to UMBC and the very nice person there gave me a copy of the undergraduate bulletin, so now I can look at how to get that psych degree. Who knows, it just may happen:) While I was sitting there, I continued to read Witness to Nuremberg. As a former German major, I am fascinated (and not in a good way!) about the psychology of the German people. I am about halfway through the book. The first part – about Mr. Sonnefeldt’s work as an interpreter for the US (while a private in the US Army!) who spent hours with Nazis while the US prosecutors interrogated them – and sometimes alone with them. He did some of the footwork, smoking out witnesses for the prosecution. Of course, the disturbing part was the conversations he had with some of these truly evil people. Some of it made me physically nauseous! In contrast, the portrait he paints of his family in Berlin between the World Wars was quite interesting -and inspiring. He discusses his parents’ very different personalities – both of them were medical doctors – and intimates how their gifts saved him and his family from the horrors of the Holocaust. It made for good reading in between the questions I could barely answer about Middlebury, having attended over 30 years ago! And when I wasn’t reading, I frogged that piece from the yarn at the MS&W festival. I just couldn’t figure out where it was going and it seemed just a little too sheer for my liking! Obviously, I talked to a lot of potential students – NOT.
When that was over, I drove to Hyattsville for the end of a memorial service for Kristin boyfriend, Sonny’s, father, Gary, who recently died of pancreatic cancer. The family and friends seemed very nice and I’m glad Sonny and his family had their support along with that of their church.
Then home – Dori, Madison and Ruby were in the kitchen making chocolate chip cookies. Ouch….
After they left when Donald came for them, I got ready to go out to the Friendly Inn to see a fellow choir member’s husband’s band. I thought there’d be a bunch of people from choir there, but NO ONE I knew but Bill (husband of friend who was playing) was there. I don’t go to bars by myself. Ever. It is NO FUN. If I’m going somewhere for drinks and fun, I go for fun, and for hanging with friends. Since the friends were not there, I listened to the band as I was heading back to my car. They were good. Too bad the friends were showing up later, I guess. Oh well. Next stop home. And now I am going to just chill out, have a glass of wine at home, where I can’t get a DWI and try knitting some of the many projects I have already started.
Sorry, boring post, but whaddya gonna do?
+
Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

4 thoughts on “Saddiday”

  1. I don’t recall where I first came across your blog, but since on the page I just read you mention two things of interest to me (church choir, which I also sing in, and Middlebury, my husband’s alma mater (’73), I thought I ought to speak up. I am a night person myself, working nights at Target, and I can really sympathize with falling asleep over one’s knitting (usually I hang on to all the stitches, but not always!). Wanted you to know that I am thinking of Madison and her family and the little girl undergoing heart surgery – I believe in sending powerful and healing thoughts where ever they are needed.

    Looks like you have some interesting shawl(s)(?) going there. I just went through a wedding shawl experience myself – for my sister the bride – and got it finished and blocked with about 6 hours to spare (but that is how I often work!). Good luck in choosing something and getting a good start.

    See you around the blogosphere!

  2. I don’t recall where I first came across your blog, but since on the page I just read you mention two things of interest to me (church choir, which I also sing in, and Middlebury, my husband’s alma mater (’73), I thought I ought to speak up. I am a night person myself, working nights at Target, and I can really sympathize with falling asleep over one’s knitting (usually I hang on to all the stitches, but not always!). Wanted you to know that I am thinking of Madison and her family and the little girl undergoing heart surgery – I believe in sending powerful and healing thoughts where ever they are needed.

    Looks like you have some interesting shawl(s)(?) going there. I just went through a wedding shawl experience myself – for my sister the bride – and got it finished and blocked with about 6 hours to spare (but that is how I often work!). Good luck in choosing something and getting a good start.

    See you around the blogosphere!

  3. Thanks for your kind comments, Karen. Your husband was a senior my freshman year at Midd! It’s been over 30 years and I still have a bit of homesickness for VT, LOL. Saw the wedding shawl on your blog (had to peek, hope you don’t mind) and it is BEAUTIFUL!!! You must have the patience of a saint! And six hours to spare – actually that’s pretty darn impressive (I think we’re living the same life…)
    Many thanks especially for the kind, healing thoughts. Good things going out into the universe are always good:)
    Thanks again,
    Joan a/k/a FSK

  4. Thanks for your kind comments, Karen. Your husband was a senior my freshman year at Midd! It’s been over 30 years and I still have a bit of homesickness for VT, LOL. Saw the wedding shawl on your blog (had to peek, hope you don’t mind) and it is BEAUTIFUL!!! You must have the patience of a saint! And six hours to spare – actually that’s pretty darn impressive (I think we’re living the same life…)
    Many thanks especially for the kind, healing thoughts. Good things going out into the universe are always good:)
    Thanks again,
    Joan a/k/a FSK

Leave a Reply

