After Midnight…..


I could not let my blog hang out there with a string of cursewords dotting the internet. Not much new on Madison’s incident, but the school appears to be taking the appropriate measures with the miscreants. We shall see…..

Finished my Proposed findings of fact – basically supplemented that of DSS. Got it filed by 3:30 PM – an hour to spare – must be falling down on the job! But of course that – and thunderstorms – meant no walking for me today.

I was able to cash in on my mother’s day loot today – went to Barnes & Noble and got two GRE practice exam books, two knitting books (No Sheep for You by Amy Singer (excellent!) and Lace Style by a number of excellent knit designers, published by Interweave, so of course it was terrific. Also bought Anna Quindlen’s Rise and Shine about two sisters living in NYC (couldn’t resist it) another one I’m enjoying. Of course I want to do all the knitting projects and start studying to get into grad school, but if you saw the depressing state of affairs that is my desk, you would shake your head in disgust. I honestly don’t know what the hell John sees in me! I think I’ve been inside too much today, I really starting to feel depressed and that has not been me in a long time. I think if I get off the damn carbs and start moving again and get this mess cleaned up I’ll feel better.
But right now I am tired and have to be up at the crack o’dawn to get Dan and Tori up so they can get him to his 7 a.m. flight tomorrow at BWI. He’s off to Alafuckingbama (OK, you know I couldn’t resist just one little cursette….) to film an army (yes army) instructional video.
Good night, angels!
+
Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

4 thoughts on “After Midnight…..”

  1. Keep your chin up. I have two grandchildren with autism – they are siblings and have a younger “normal” brother. The older one will probably be a high functioning adult – and her brother may outgrow the autistic spectrum according to the professionals at Kennedy-Kreiger.
    The therapy works wonders and there are so many resources available if one digs a bit.
    I’ve told my daughter that her two oldest speak a foreign language and it is up to us to try to learn it.
    Also, the children have been taught some sign – it helps those who are non-verbal

  2. Keep your chin up. I have two grandchildren with autism – they are siblings and have a younger “normal” brother. The older one will probably be a high functioning adult – and her brother may outgrow the autistic spectrum according to the professionals at Kennedy-Kreiger.
    The therapy works wonders and there are so many resources available if one digs a bit.
    I’ve told my daughter that her two oldest speak a foreign language and it is up to us to try to learn it.
    Also, the children have been taught some sign – it helps those who are non-verbal

  3. Thanks so much! It’s funny, I alternate between laughing and crying. Crying for obvious reasons, but I couldn’t stop laughing when I read the evaluation and one of the things the psychologist said was that the testing was hampered somewhat when Madison gave “silly answers.” I just loved that. In contrast to some of the psych evals I see on clients (some of whom have offended against a sib or killed a kitten, for example), this was God’s way of saying “get a grip, grandma!”
    Kennedy Krieger’s backlog is to me an indication of staffing issues, but I also wonder whether it’s also an indication of the epidemic of autism that seems to be festering in this country – or at least our area. There’s some talk that this is caused by environmental problems which can cause genetic problems – or lack of O2 at birth. Madison’s was an emergency C-section (fetal distress). Who knows?
    I think Madison’s distress often comes from the language issue – she has normal receptive, but terrible expressive scores. (I’m just learning this stuff, so bear with me, LOL). Sometimes her understanding is so concrete – often with humorous results. The other day her mom told me she kept asking her parents how her eyes were. Puzzled, they said, they were fine. Madison said, “I can’t believe my eyes.” Imagine the fun we had with “raining cats and dogs.” No wonder she thinks I’m her crrrrazy Mom-mom!
    Thanks so much for you kind words,
    Joan a/k/a FSK

  4. Thanks so much! It’s funny, I alternate between laughing and crying. Crying for obvious reasons, but I couldn’t stop laughing when I read the evaluation and one of the things the psychologist said was that the testing was hampered somewhat when Madison gave “silly answers.” I just loved that. In contrast to some of the psych evals I see on clients (some of whom have offended against a sib or killed a kitten, for example), this was God’s way of saying “get a grip, grandma!”
    Kennedy Krieger’s backlog is to me an indication of staffing issues, but I also wonder whether it’s also an indication of the epidemic of autism that seems to be festering in this country – or at least our area. There’s some talk that this is caused by environmental problems which can cause genetic problems – or lack of O2 at birth. Madison’s was an emergency C-section (fetal distress). Who knows?
    I think Madison’s distress often comes from the language issue – she has normal receptive, but terrible expressive scores. (I’m just learning this stuff, so bear with me, LOL). Sometimes her understanding is so concrete – often with humorous results. The other day her mom told me she kept asking her parents how her eyes were. Puzzled, they said, they were fine. Madison said, “I can’t believe my eyes.” Imagine the fun we had with “raining cats and dogs.” No wonder she thinks I’m her crrrrazy Mom-mom!
    Thanks so much for you kind words,
    Joan a/k/a FSK

Leave a Reply

