It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood….


I still mourn the loss of Mr. Rogers. He was a wonderful man, a gentle soul with the smoothest tone of voice and the sharpest intelligence. He was a minister, an educator, a light shining in the darkness and the world is still impoverished by his absence. When people ask me who the man of my dreams is – I always say “Why Mr. Rogers, of course!” Then I get some odd looks, LOL:) Oh well, in the immortal words of Kathy Mankowsky, “F’em if they can’t take a joke.”
Anyway, it is indeed a beautiful day. There’s a lovely breeze, the sun is shining, the birds are tweeting, there’s green in the grass, on the trees the sky is blue and clear. It’s supposed to go up to 83 degrees F today (about 28 degrees C?? Is the formula C = 5/9 (F – 32)??) If I can, I will try to get in a walk. Reason: I’ve walked consistently every day since Thursday and I’d like to see if I can keep it up. Yesterday, I walked again with Nancy in the park. Kristin and Milo were even there. Even got a little sunshine to warm up my usual deathlike pallor, LOL:) Afterwards, there was an amazing concert at the church by a wonderful singing group called the Herb Dimmock Singers. Their performance was simply beautiful to this amateur music lover. They sang a number of modern sacred vocal music selections – my favorite!

John is not a great fan, so I went alone while he stayed home and mowed the lawn. Mowing the lawn is not a fun job, but John has told me in the past that he gets enjoyment out of doing the gardening. When we were younger, I would either hang around and watch or help out. It’s not my thing, but it was something I liked doing because he did. Personally, I have the curse of the black thumb. In other words, the more I stay away from a plant, the better it does. I either over water or put it in the wrong sunlight. Someday, I will do better in that department. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it. In the meantime….. not so much. And like most couples, he and I have negotiated our musical tastes. If he’s able, he’ll come to hear the choir sing and will of course attend any performances of our kids (and I’m sure later, grandkids). He enjoyed the Army Field Band performance and we both had a blast at the Billy Joel concert at Madison Square Garden in January. But to ask a man who gets precious little sleep during the week to sit through sacred music would be cruel and unusual punishment (provided he remains awake!).

Today, I am going to get through my paperwork for the week, get into the office, and then if I’m a good doobie and get my work done, I will take that walk, and get some knitting in. John had to work last night, so I doubt I’ll get the flute practice in. But maybe tomorrow if I’m lucky/better organized. Good news is, despite the loss of upper teeth, the tone is just fine with the denture. But with that flute, I’d be hard pressed to have a bad tone! Thank you, again kids, and Sonny, for the birthday gift!

I found pictures online of other people’s finished Inishmaan and Inishmore sweaters. They are both wonderful. I’m still trying to decide. The first two are Inishmore and come from Ann B’s (I think) wonderful blog. Of the remaining three Inishmaan pictures, one is from WendyKnits’ blog and the others I just found via a google search. I am not sure whose they are. The blue-green sweater was billed as “Veronique’s Inishaan” and I believe comes from the Knitting Beyond the Hebrides website. The other seems to be from a website originating from Japan?? with the words “greentag” in it. They are all lovely sweaters. Well, there’ll be plenty of time to decide, since it’ll be 2009 before I’m done with what I have to do. I do have a full time job, LOL!
But aren’t they lovely? I’ve got to get back to work. But I can dream, can’t I?
Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

4 thoughts on “It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood….”

  1. ooh yes, can’t you hear my heavy breathing? Sad aren’t I? But hese are gorgeous and far more interesting that what normally causes havey breathing….

  2. ooh yes, can’t you hear my heavy breathing? Sad aren’t I? But hese are gorgeous and far more interesting that what normally causes havey breathing….

  3. HAHAHA Brilliant! Like you, Colin, I get my inspiration wherever I can, LOL! I only wish I had knit these, but I did give credit to the wonderful people who knit them!
    Your arans are beautiful as well!
    Wouldn’t it be nice if Ms. Starmore were to go back to publishing some of her patterns again?
    Hope it’s as nice today on your side of the “pond” as it is here!
    🙂
    Joan

  4. HAHAHA Brilliant! Like you, Colin, I get my inspiration wherever I can, LOL! I only wish I had knit these, but I did give credit to the wonderful people who knit them!
    Your arans are beautiful as well!
    Wouldn’t it be nice if Ms. Starmore were to go back to publishing some of her patterns again?
    Hope it’s as nice today on your side of the “pond” as it is here!
    🙂
    Joan

Leave a Reply

