Good News and BAD NEWS


Well the good news is, my little friends are breathing a little easier today. Rennie’s arm/bionic elbow is/are not broken, no surgery to drive the diabetes ’round the bend, thanks be to God.

The bad news is all over the radio and TV and internet. 32 young human beings dead at the hands of a gun-toting maniac (who of course turned the gun on himself, bringing the death toll to 33 so far), some 8 more in critical condition, and a bunch more injured less critically – and in a place of higher education where one should feel, if nothing else, safe. In my neck of the woods, Virginia Tech is a college choice for many young people. While I’m thankful that none are personally known to me, it is cold comfort for the unfortunates and their families! So, my prayers go out to all of them.

The nor’easter has blown into town and the wind is unbelievable. It’s hard to believe it’s almost May! I know the wind is bad when I have to fight to get my, ahem, tush, across the street while dragging a trial briefcase behind me!

Speaking of trial, the TPR is done, but we have proposed findings of fact and final arguments to complete in the next 30 days. I’m going to start on them tomorrow after a visit to the office and a catch-up on other work I’ve neglected. Will also try to get a walk in and back on the diet! In the next three months, I plan on marching in two local parades, playing the snare drum, and do NOT expect to be visiting the ER, LOL. Last year, Confirmation (and requisite choir) prevented marching in the Memorial Day parade and my hospitalization in June with my durn leg prevented the July 4th march. But this year, I plan on being dressed for BEAR, ugly chubby discolored ankles and thunder thighs notwithstanding.

I put together a bunch of yarns from my stash for a somewhat modified “Erin” from Alice Starmore’s Celtic Knits. I’ll get that one started sometime at the end of the year, but it’s fun to dream. I have an Aran I want to do for John (see previous entries), and with all the other projects I have pending, this one will be a while in the making – but it’s nice knowing it’s in the background ready to be knit. As you can see, I have made the colors on this one a little cooler than the original. Plus, I think I’ll be needing a couple of dark and light greens still. And that isn’t happening any time soon, LOL. So I’ll just keep on dreaming:)
Well, my daughter is wanting this computer, so I’m taking off for the rest of the evening!
+
Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

4 thoughts on “Good News and BAD NEWS”

  1. I HIGHLY recommend this Yahoo! group for anyone interested in beautiful fair isle knitting. There are a number of very talented, experienced knitters who post to it regularly, including Miss AnneB above:)
    You all should check out her blog
    geocachingknitter.blogspot.com
    πŸ™‚
    Joan
    a/k/a FSK

  2. I HIGHLY recommend this Yahoo! group for anyone interested in beautiful fair isle knitting. There are a number of very talented, experienced knitters who post to it regularly, including Miss AnneB above:)
    You all should check out her blog
    geocachingknitter.blogspot.com
    πŸ™‚
    Joan
    a/k/a FSK

Leave a Reply

