Progress!


Well, I decided not to get that bottle of wine last night – and I think it was a wise choice, given that I got a lot of knitting done on that lacy piece and without the errors that have been plaguing its construction from the beginning. Here are some pics:I think the light blue will be a good choice. It’s a combo of silk and cotton from my stash of yarn and it’s knitting up fairly well. Just a word to the wise: red wine and lace knitting are not a good combination:). This is a very simply constructed top, which makes sense, given that the pattern is intricate-looking at least. The little bit of striping is just to break the color monotony and add just a little more texture. I think the jury’s out on that one, but hey, it’s just a summer top, let’s get a grip, LOL!


Now that I’m in the “flow” it’s working up pretty quickly and I should be done with it tonight or tomorrow, depending on what else I get up to today:).

If anyone reads this thing, I am looking for a project for my husband. I’d like to knit him an Aran sweater, something really cool, because he has a ton of sweaters, and I’d like the one I make him to be something special that he will actually wear. My skills have improved considerably and I think that I will be much better with sizing the thing. I’m thinking of designing my own out of a combination of Janet Szabo’s book Aran Sweater Design and Vogue Knitting Vol. II – Cables, both of which I have on the bookshelf here at home (oh, don’t go there, it drives John nuts – and rightfully so, I have to admit!) So anyway, if I’m going to drive him crazy with my yarn fetish, he mind as well profit from it, right? And I cannot think of a better person to knit for. After all, he’s no longer the “boyfriend” who will break up with me when I knit him a sweater. I’ve already given birth in front of him six times. How creeped out can he get with a sweater, LOL? He’s obviously seen far worse (and at the same time far more wonderful:)). He is also one of the hardest working men I know. As my former stepmonster used to say, “that boy’s got ambition.” And he’s not bad looking, either, LOL:) As his mother used to say, “I don’t know what you see in her.” We are definitely the odd couple!
Now, do I do the traditional off-white Aran sweater? Or some other color? John’s more of a traditionalist in style (he’s so NOT like me – can wear jeans and a ripped T-shirt, be sweaty from mowing the lawn and still looks like he could pose for a magazine!). And a winter white wouldn’t look bad on him. But white does get dirty so easily. Maybe something more natural in color, like a heathered light light brown??? Keeping in mind that John is a “winter” with grey hair that used to be dark, brown eyes (think the comic strip “Dondi” for you old New Yawkas out there), and fairish skin that burns before he tans. So a lot of earth tones are not good for him. But some work for “Winters.” The good news is, I have a lot of acrylic off white yarn in enough quantities for just such a sweater. Ah, but should I knit in wool? The chances of the thing getting murdered in the wash are very great, so maybe stick with acrylic???? But we are not shy with the dry cleaning. Decisions, decisions!

Well, I’ve just been babysitting a fax of a gazillion pages to DSS for Monday’s testimony and it’s finished. Then I’m hitting the shower and onward to Hagerstown where I am meeting with a young adult client. Then home to do wash and knitting (hope springeth eternal, so they say…).
If anyone is reading this, please send me comments (about the sweater, I mean), I would greatly appreciate them!

Happy Saturday:)!
+

Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

8 thoughts on “Progress!”

  1. Have you checked out Janet’s FLAK KAL on her website? It walks you through designing an Aran from the top down – no sewing! – and addresses fitting questions as you work.wy

  2. Have you checked out Janet’s FLAK KAL on her website? It walks you through designing an Aran from the top down – no sewing! – and addresses fitting questions as you work.wy

  3. OH yeah! Isn’t that FLAK KAL amazing? I not only have looked at and continue looking at it, but have printed it out (twice, because I’m not very organized, LOL:)I just need to actually take the time, sit down and plot this out, which is actually kind of fun. Once work gets a little less crazy (HAH!!!)
    BTW – I love love LOVE your blog:)!!!
    Joan a/k/a FSK

  4. OH yeah! Isn’t that FLAK KAL amazing? I not only have looked at and continue looking at it, but have printed it out (twice, because I’m not very organized, LOL:)I just need to actually take the time, sit down and plot this out, which is actually kind of fun. Once work gets a little less crazy (HAH!!!)
    BTW – I love love LOVE your blog:)!!!
    Joan a/k/a FSK

  5. Excellent questions! I tend to think that if I were to knit an Aran for John, he’d probably want the traditional Aran look – off white or “winter white.” Type of fiber? Well, as you probably know, wool knits up so well, but the newer acrylics aren’t half bad. I don’t think John would have a fiber preference if it looks good. As for it being a surprise, I don’t think that’s a good idea because I’d like to be absolutely sure it fits him well. Besides, it’s not like I could hide it very well, LOL:)
    So, I think after considering your question that I am going to do it off white but still need to think about the fiber – and the budget!!
    Thanks for weighing in!
    Joan a/k/a FSK

  6. Excellent questions! I tend to think that if I were to knit an Aran for John, he’d probably want the traditional Aran look – off white or “winter white.” Type of fiber? Well, as you probably know, wool knits up so well, but the newer acrylics aren’t half bad. I don’t think John would have a fiber preference if it looks good. As for it being a surprise, I don’t think that’s a good idea because I’d like to be absolutely sure it fits him well. Besides, it’s not like I could hide it very well, LOL:)
    So, I think after considering your question that I am going to do it off white but still need to think about the fiber – and the budget!!
    Thanks for weighing in!
    Joan a/k/a FSK

Leave a Reply

