And Bears, Oh MY…..


Sorry – couldn’t think of a good title for this week’s fun and frolic:) It’s been Sunday since I’ve written anything and a few things have happened.

Monday, the TPR continued and we were able to get in evidence of abuse. The State rested their case and now we have another few weeks until the parent does his. Tuesday, I had a hearing that went fairly well – we settled it, DSS agreeing to hold off on filing the TPR Petition and giving the meanie a few more months to perfect his act. (Oh dear, I guess I’m sounding a wee bit sarcastic here…) Then off to the office to get paperwork in and then the dentist.
Funny thing – there wasn’t a heck of a lot of serious pain that afternoon, although I did come out feeling like I had Homer Simpson mouth, LOL. I was given a number of painkillers, a mild antibiotic and some stronger painkiller “just in case.” Not being shy about using what I need, I was able to stay on an even keel as the very very strong novocaine wore off. I was actually more worried about shots to the front of my face than I was of losing the teeth, having had shots in the face before. But the dentist numbed that topically first and then used a machine that seemed to pump the novocaine into the area. Not only was my upper jaw numb, my nose, cheeks and bottom eyelids were numb, LOL! When I finally left, I had to fill the prescriptions, and had a half hour to kill while I waited for them. So I got a couple of little things at a store nearby – notions I needed – and I noticed the cashier was looking pretty grossed out. I realized that there was blood on my “teeth.” Ew. I felt like a vampyre! But so gothic:) And at my age!
Wednesday morning, bright and early (after a bit of tossing and turning the night before), I had another hearing – exceptions to the Master’s recommendations filed by moi. We won. Great judge (of course:)). Wednesday afternoon: a visit to Harford County and then to Good Shepherd Center (a residential treatment center for girls) to meet with another client who is finally beginning to do well, then late for EfM. Did not go out to see my sister – and she was too busy to notice, LOL. I was ready for bed and some more ibuprofen by then!
Today began quite early – 8:30 CINA workgroup meeting, 9:30 TPR status conference, 9:45 CINA docket, went home to do some banking and have lunch (I am eating peanut butter, egg salad, and….. well, not much else, LOL! ) 1:30 back in court for three more hearings.
By 3:00 I was done – and had learned that a foster mom of one of my disabled clients, a lovely human being who had been battling cancer for as long as I knew her – died. The wake was in a funeral home just a few miles from court. The least I could do was to pay my respects. Her husband, Phil, and her family were there. Phil had something interesting to tell me – and it seems I hear these kinds of things so many times after someone dies. Seriously, I can’t not believe that we keep on after death. Anything else just doesn’t make sense to my mortal mind.
Anyhow, the night that Wanda died, Phil and some other family members were sitting with her, telling stories about her, some funny, some not. She was smiling and gently passed into the next world. Someone noticed that she had stopped breathing. No sooner did that happen but the fire alarm went off, and the lights flickered. OK, no biggie, right? But here’s something else. Destiny, their foster child who is my client, was with her nurse. Destiny, who has CP, is legally blind, and a host of other problems, along with severe to profound mental retardation, has this laugh that she only has when she sees Wanda. Upon no one else is this special laugh bestowed. Destiny has been with Wanda and Phil for about 10 years – since she was 2. Well, out of nowhere, Destiny starts this laugh. And not just once. Wanda must’ve had to pass through that room to let Destiny know she’d be OK. Probably telling her what a nice time she’s going to have in Heaven!
I said a prayer at the casket, bid my leave of Phil, with a promise to come up and see Destiny soon. Then on to another visit.
After that, it was home, answer some e-mails, then get on the phone to try to talk with a client for tomorrow’s hearing. Instead I got a 15-minute harangue from his mother. Good LORD……
And that’s a case DSS wants to close!! No comment.
Then choir.:) But even that was not a lot of fun – my mouth was really starting to hurt and the vibrations weren’t helping. My cheeks and upper lip are still a little puffy and I’m getting used to looking REALLY scary in the morning!
As for knitting, well, I have done little dribs and drabs of it, but nothing worth posting a pic for. Sorry folks. Maybe I’ll get caught up sometime before I die.
Tomorrow is court in the afternoon and a walk afterwards and a birthday party for a friend in a local pub. Now things are starting to look UP:)
Sometimes it’s nice to be even a little bit Irish! Who needs food when you can drink a little?
+
Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

4 thoughts on “And Bears, Oh MY…..”

  1. Good for you for your successes.

    As fro the going to the next world story, yes, I agree, what else can happen? It make sno sense whatever to it be over at physical death, even if the continuation of life after death is hard to swallow too. It is more logical.

  2. Good for you for your successes.

    As fro the going to the next world story, yes, I agree, what else can happen? It make sno sense whatever to it be over at physical death, even if the continuation of life after death is hard to swallow too. It is more logical.

  3. I think that’s what we all, deep down, really believe. We fight so hard to stay with life because death is an unknown, the unfamiliar. Unfortunately, there have been those who use this tendency to abuse their fellow human beings. Special place in hell for them!
    Joan

  4. I think that’s what we all, deep down, really believe. We fight so hard to stay with life because death is an unknown, the unfamiliar. Unfortunately, there have been those who use this tendency to abuse their fellow human beings. Special place in hell for them!
    Joan

Leave a Reply

