Sleighbells Ring, are you listening, in the lane, snow is glistening….


This was my ride home
from church about noon
today. Ellicott City looked like a fairy tale wonderland. My kids kept saying – it looks like Narnia out there:) Looks innocuous enough, but the roads were fairly slippery. As you can see, our little street and our “driveway” were virgin snow territories. So cool.
This morning, I got up a couple of hours earlier than I needed to – kept thinking we were singing at the earlier service. I was practically out the door when I realized it, so back inside and a couple of hours of knitting. I was practicing some lace knitting with the mohair skeins from Elann. See below.
We were a skeleton crew in choir today. It was so much fun because (thank God!) the other singers were the good ones:) and Nancy was playing of course. Just found out Doris J., one of the priests, has been called to be a rector at a church called St. Martin-in-the-Fields in Glen Burnie. How appropriate -given that Doris has been so supportive of us in the music program:) I know we will all miss her.
When I got out of church, I started brushing the accumulated snow off my car, then realized a bunch of my fellows had not yet left and so for a lark, I brushed their cars off, too:) I always have so much nervous energy after singing at a service/having to sit still for an hour that this was good for me and hopefully for the recipients as well. For once I was careful not to scratch the bodies of the cars…..
Well I made it through my first week without that colleague. It wasn’t easy by a long shot and of course, the guilt really stinks. Word got out bit by bit at the courthouse. Hopefullly the PD’s office will have some work for her. Why not.
Since I last posted, things have gone fairly well for our clients, give or take, considering that I had to reassign about 160 of them (!). Ash Wednesday’s service was just what it should have been – and of course the music was beautiful, with Donna and Sally singing the Andrew Lloyd Weber Pie’ Jesu. Thursday’s choir practice was excellent – beginning the new season of Lent and getting into some new music for Easter. Friday, I had two meetings scheduled before the afternoon docket: breakfast and then a walk with Nancy, and a meeting at Balt. Co DSS. Nancy and I ended up walking around the church parking lot, which was much better paved than the park’s path. It was chilly, but because we were moving, it wasn’t so bad. I am really looking forward to Spring when we can maybe walk through some more interesting landscape. It really feels good to be able to walk. I’m noticing that on days when I have to park on the street, or walk somewhere in Towson, it’s no big deal. I find I’m actually enjoying the exercise! Who knew? Anyway, after a fun time walking with Nancy (she is one of the best conversationalists I know, which makes the time fly by), the meeting at DSS fell through, so I went on to court and got there fairly early. Short docket.
Aside from church this morning and two fairly brief errands yesterday, this weekend has been spent for the most part at this computer, working on getting my calendar to come together! I got a very small amount of knitting done, but nothing to write home about. A little more of the back for Madison’s sweater – need to get back to that blankie! There’s still so much more paperwork to get done, so I sincerely hope they close the courts tomorrow, though (just being lazy, I guess). I have to admit, it’s nice having snow when you are in the inside looking out. Not so nice otherwise!
Tomorrow I have court all day (if the courts are open – no reason to think they won’t be) and, again, assuming the roads are clear, a music committee meeting at St. John’s – at which the new Rector will be sharing with us her vision of our music program. I sure hope she LISTENS to Nancy and the other professionals who know what they’re talking about. I plan on doing nothing but listening, but then sometimes my lawyer/smartass nature gets the better of me and that’s all she wrote as they say.
Well, none of the kids are coming for dinner, and only JoAnna and Sabrina are home this evening. Betsy’s working, so it will be a quiet evening, which now and then is just fine with me!
So, I’m off to finish up my paperwork and maybe do some wash – we all need underwear, LOL!
+
Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

8 thoughts on “Sleighbells Ring, are you listening, in the lane, snow is glistening….”

  1. I really like your new blog, Joan.I envy the snow, even though I know it causes problems and would elave me housebound! I just love the stuff. It brightens everything up and makes me feel cozy.

  2. I really like your new blog, Joan.I envy the snow, even though I know it causes problems and would elave me housebound! I just love the stuff. It brightens everything up and makes me feel cozy.

  3. Hi Joan..I too am a choir singer and a Sally. My husband sang Pie Jesu with a soprano on several occasions. I am an alto and love it. What denomintation is your church?
    Sally

  4. Hi Joan..I too am a choir singer and a Sally. My husband sang Pie Jesu with a soprano on several occasions. I am an alto and love it. What denomintation is your church?
    Sally

  5. Colin, thanks for your comments:) It’s snowing AGAIN after a week of springlike weather (GRRRRR) but I still am young enough at heart that I really love it:)
    True, you would be homebound, wouldn’t you? Just so you know, the Monday after this snow, I had a hearing at court, parked about a block away and started walking at what I thought was a brisk pace. I was not happy to meet the ice on the street and landed flat on my back. Ah well, the advantages of having, ahem, padding showed itself that day – nothing broken but my dignity, LOL:) And a rather handsome gentleman helped me back to my feet, so why complain?
    πŸ™‚
    Hope things are going well for you and your little darlings:)
    Joan

  6. Colin, thanks for your comments:) It’s snowing AGAIN after a week of springlike weather (GRRRRR) but I still am young enough at heart that I really love it:)
    True, you would be homebound, wouldn’t you? Just so you know, the Monday after this snow, I had a hearing at court, parked about a block away and started walking at what I thought was a brisk pace. I was not happy to meet the ice on the street and landed flat on my back. Ah well, the advantages of having, ahem, padding showed itself that day – nothing broken but my dignity, LOL:) And a rather handsome gentleman helped me back to my feet, so why complain?
    πŸ™‚
    Hope things are going well for you and your little darlings:)
    Joan

  7. Sally – how cool! I, too, am an alto, but I’m singing tenor at the behest of “She Who Must Be Obeyed” (how I miss Rumpole!), so I suppose I’m a “switch hitter,” LOL!
    How wonderful that your husband sings, too!
    My denomination is the currently much beleaguered Episcopal Church -often called God’s “Frozen Chosen,” LOL – or, on the flip side, where four or more are gathered, can a fifth be far behind? Sorry, couldn’t resist!
    Take care,
    Joan

  8. Sally – how cool! I, too, am an alto, but I’m singing tenor at the behest of “She Who Must Be Obeyed” (how I miss Rumpole!), so I suppose I’m a “switch hitter,” LOL!
    How wonderful that your husband sings, too!
    My denomination is the currently much beleaguered Episcopal Church -often called God’s “Frozen Chosen,” LOL – or, on the flip side, where four or more are gathered, can a fifth be far behind? Sorry, couldn’t resist!
    Take care,
    Joan

Leave a Reply

