Weekend Works


Well, I joined yet another KAL (knit-a-long) yesterday and posted my first post today. I’m usually really good at these things – at first – and certainly tend to lurk all the time throughout. But this one I’m kind of excited about. If anyone reading this is interested, you can reach it by
clicking on the link on the title to this blog entry. It’s called Fair Isle February, and as you can imagine, the participants are supposed to work on a fair isle project. I sorta kinda cheated in that my project could also be included in the Mason-Dixon Knitting Blog/KAL as well. But I figure that’s OK. I need to contribute a little more to that blog also. Here’s what I’m working on:
A baby blankie for Baby Kate. Since Kate lives in San Diego, I figure she won’t need wool and double strands of cotton ougtta do the trick. More about this on the Fair Isle February blog. I’m having fun with the bright colors and hope she (or her parents) will enjoy it.

Still have so many projects in the works, but hey, that’s what makes the world go ’round.

Yesterday was a productive one, if a little hectic with a missed appointment I must make up!

I started out by walking some 2 + miles with a very nice friend. I think we’ll be doing this somewhat regularly and I’m happy with that because it should help the old cardio system. Although I normally walk fairly long distances now without a lot of trouble, yesterday was a bit brisker and longer than usual, which was a wonderful thing. She’s in a lot better shape than I am, so I constantly have someone to keep up with. I just hope I don’t hold her back, LOL! When I think back to just three years ago, when I wasn’t sleeping really through the night, because I had sleep apnea, snoring like a steam roller and not fitting into size 48 pants, having to huff and puff a little up a hill is small potatoes (low carb, of course, LOL). So, like the saying goes, thank God for friends – and I especially thank God for this one!
After a mad dash to get paperwork done, I literally ran through the shower, getting dressed for court, off to the office to drop off said paperwork and files, picking up more paperwork and mail in the process, then off to court. I was supposed to stop by DSS’ office to review a file, but automatic pilot kicked in and I was home before I realized I had totally turned my brain off! By then it was too late. )(*&)(*&)(*&!!!! So I am going to have to eat some humble pie Monday. Luckily, we’re on the same side, and luckily this is a fairly cordial bar, or I would be in deep stuff!
Last night was fairly quiet. I did some knitting and fell asleep in the middle of it, staggering off to bed at 2 AM! Was up this morning about 6 hours later and off to get John’s dry cleaning (not fun to go to work naked) and client visits. Up to White Marsh, over to Essex, up to Reisterstown, back over to Dundalk and then home. You’d think I’d plan this better and put all my east side visits together in time, but it just worked out that way. I tell you what though: that portable GPS system that three of my kids got me this Christmas is worth its weight in gold. It took me through the port of Baltimore and got me home very quickly.

As you can see, the Ft. McHenry tunnel wasn’t too bad – after all, it’s a Saturday and date night hasn’t started yet, LOL.

Wanted to show some pictures of the older section of Ellicott City, which was predominantly a mill town, I believe, back in the day. As you can see, Main Street is still pretty crowded and the electrical/phone wires are still up in the air. There are a lot of interesting shops in those old stone buildings. Very Maryland. I didn’t include pictures of the Patapsco (?) Institute and the gargoyled house on College Avenue – both said to be haunted because I didn’t drive by them, but they are nearby.

and up the hill, around the bend and …home. A nice productive day. Not bad. Tomorrow is choir/church and dinner with the family. Tonight I might stop by and see a fellow chorister play with his band at a local pub. No drinking, though. I gave that up until further notice. It was getting in the way of being a responsible person. Not good.
I am ending here with my free will astrology horoscope for this week. It was very meaningful. Don’t get me wrong. I don’t necessarily believe in this stuff. I believe that the God of the Universe is the One to go to on the subject of my life, but if this could be a road sign, since it makes a bit of sense. Who knows?
Your whole life passed before your eyes in a flash, and yet
you survived. The veil parted and revealed sights too weird and wonderful to
consciously register, changing you in ways that won’t fully sink in for months.
Now you may feel as if you’re waking up at 3 p.m. after an all-night binge. You
might be so overloaded with uncanny new wisdom that you don’t quite know what
practical use to make of it all yet. But have no fear: As your birthday
approaches, you’ll begin to understand the teachings you didn’t even know you
absorbed.

Yeah buddy, thanks for reminding me about yet another birthday. Well, I’ve got a couple of weeks yet. And I’d like to think I’m still young enough to enjoy my birthday:)

+

Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

Leave a Reply

