Oh Man… And I coulda had a V8!



Apparently I have “gay hands.” Man! After 30 years of marriage and six kids, I’ve been doing it all wrong! Geez Louise! I should have been another ALF. Little did I know:) Note the ring finger is ever so much longer than the index finger. Well now I’m showing my total lack of experience and sophistication! That’s OK, just don’t tell John. He’d be laughing as hard as I am.

C’est la vie!

Today, I overslept big time! I was supposed to be at church, vested and ready for rehearsal before the service by 8:30 AM. Service started at 9. I was there at 9:15. Oy! Well, at least I made it in time for the psalm. Nancy was probably thinking about the organ concert today, so if she was annoyed, she didn’t show it. I was so embarassed – good thing I’m not one of the good singers, LOL!
After church, I did my usual run to pick up the Sun and the New York Times. It had been drizzling a little and the sun came out – so the first thing that greeted me at the traffic light from St. John’s Lane to Rte 40 was a rainbow! Hope you can see it in these pictures. The second one is in the parking lot of the shopping center where I get my papers.

 

It’s faint, but you can make it out – probably better in the second one.

Knitting – well one of the reasons I was up far too late on Saturday was to (1) finish that sock yarn scarf I’ve been working on, (2) finish the second scarf (this one for my boss), and (3) start on a knitting blankie for our newest great niece. #1 got finished last night – needs to be blocked, though. I finished the eyelash scarf and didn’t do much on #2, but I did start the blankie. Here are pics:

One sock yarn scarf in dire need of blocking and finishing;

Scarf for the boss needs to be finished;

Eyelash Scarf completed;

And baby blankie begun. It’s in cotton – fair isle pattern from Dale of Norway (sweater adapted to blanket – they live in San Diego and by the time the sweater would be done, she’d be a toddler, LOL:) ) Colors to the right are more accurate, if duller than the original.

Well I was treated to the “fugue” part of this blog yesterday afternoon. After church – and attempting to cook dinner early (disaster!) I went to St. Peter’s Church for their organ dedication. Tom H., one of our choir members and an organ builder/composer extraordinaire, and whose wife, Donna, has a lovely soprano voice, repaired – or more accurately stated – rebuilt – their pipe organ. Nancy S., our music director/choirmaster/ and concert organist, put together a beautiful concert in honor of the occasion. The little church was packed and it was oh-so-warm (in January!!!). But the music was transforming. How awesome it must have been for Tom to see his work of art creating other works of art! The Rector of St. Peter’s commented that the music took him to another place and time. It did the same for me. I found myself meditating on being in God’s presence. My experience was woven in and out of the music, like I was there and not there at the same time. Words don’t adequately express the experience I had. The past few months have been difficult for me emotionally and spiritually. I have had so many questions about life, death, love, you name it. What I took away with me was this: Love is Eternal. Pain, sin, hatred and death fall away and in the end you are left with one thing: Love. The love you left with others, the love you give today and the love you have always received. That must be what Paul meant when he was penning 1 Cor 13. All that from an organ concert!

There was a couple there -Dick and Sally if you can believe it – and Dick is from WI- so I introduced them to Rennie, Nancy’s husband. There were going to try to meet up with her at the reception afterwards. I had to leave immediately afterwards in hopes of Sunday dinner with the family. Unfortunately, the chicken I attempted to slow-cook turned out AWFUL. It smelled great, but was far too dry for human consumption – at least the white meat was and that’s all my gang will eat (except me).

Oh well, life goes on:)

Today is Martin Luther King, Jr.’s birthday. We remember a man who confronted racism and bigotry with the mind of Christ. And now his beloved Coretta has joined him in Heaven. Let freedom ring! I slept in a little this morning. My goals are to keep on keeping on – by starting off with a walk, catching up on the wash, cleaning up the mess that is my desk, updating calendars and organizing work so I know what I’m up against, LOL.

And this evening is a Music Committee Meeting.

That oughta hold me until tomorrow – meeting with the boss and then court.

+

Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

4 thoughts on “Oh Man… And I coulda had a V8!”

  1. Please forgive me for posting this here, but I could not find your email address. I got your note on Fair Isle February and wanted to let you know that we’re getting things in order and would love for you to join. The address has changed and is now:

    http://fair-isle-february.blogspot.com/

    Hope to see you there!

  2. Please forgive me for posting this here, but I could not find your email address. I got your note on Fair Isle February and wanted to let you know that we’re getting things in order and would love for you to join. The address has changed and is now:

    http://fair-isle-february.blogspot.com/

    Hope to see you there!

  3. Thank you so much – I will check out the site right away! Am really looking forward to it!
    Thanks again for writing – and believe, no problem to write anything here:)
    FSK

  4. Thank you so much – I will check out the site right away! Am really looking forward to it!
    Thanks again for writing – and believe, no problem to write anything here:)
    FSK

Leave a Reply

