Silly way to spend an evening, but I like it…


This was my first attempt at steaking. I understand why people like to do it, but it is nervewracking to say the least. A friend of mine got a teddy bear for Christmas, so I thought I’d make a sweater for the bear. It’s easier and even smaller than baby clothes, so I figured why not? It came from scraps of wool I would have thrown out anyway and I learned a skill in the process, so what the heck. I won’t solve any of the world’s problems or help a client out, but in the scheme of things, it was a relatively harmless way to spend the evening and I got a few loads of wash (GASP) done…. Good thing about knitting for a bear is no one gets insulted if it’s too fat or wide.
Well, I’ve got to get ready for next week and the start of a whole new year. There are a number of hearings coming up, of course and a new attorney to supervise and a food plan to get BACK (!!!) on and exercising (read: walks in the park, please!) to keep me on the plan. No more backsliding. This is ridiculous.
Knitting still ongoing: Log Cabin Afghan from the Mason-Dixon Knitting women; FLAK sweater, another aran I’d like to do by Alice Starmore (trying to decide between the Inishmore and the Inishmaan) and perhaps some sweaters for Madison and Ruby – but by the time I’m done, they’ve grown!
Today was kind of weird in that I was called upon by our new Rector to send an e-mail out to the choir (I keep up the contacts list and have everyone’s e-mail). Not that it was an unreasonable request. It just felt weird because our choir director is out of town and the Rector is trying to get our presence at a memorial service per the request of the bereaved family and asked me to send out the e-mail because she is unable to get in touch with the music director. She was very conscious in her e-mail of NOT wanting to do an end run or “micro manage,” and I certainly respect that. Again, not unreasonable. Death doesn’t take holidays. Oh Lord, did I just write that? Even I’m gagging…. Oh well, leave it to me to make far too much of it. I think this comes from working for law firms where even if you were out of town at a family wedding, they’d call you just because they could. And I tend to be very resistant to that, even when it’s not intended as such. OK, analysis over.
John has been working like a dog this week into next- double schedule with no break in sight until next Thursday – and of course that’s when work starts kicking in big time for me. Isn’t that always the way? As hard as the kids work and as crazy as my schedule can get, he puts us all to shame! It’ll be good to see him get a break next week. Let’s hope!
Some good stuff on the horizon: my Dad and SM (Maureen) are coming into town the end of the month – an opportunity to take a night off, have dinner and maybe do some DC sightseeing that Sat. Some of the kids will be joining us and of course, we will be attending Dan’s play at the Rohrschach Theater on Friday. Good times:) (And don’t forgot the new episodes of Buddy Jackson ) Oh, and our nephew, Patrick is getting married on a Caribbean Island to his love, Jeannie and John’s brother, Jim and sister-in-law, Jackie, will be there. So now there are two New Year’s Eve weddings: Patrick and Jeannie’s and Dan’s and Tori’s. No excuses for forgetting:)
Oh, and our nephew JT (James) and his bride, Angela had a little girl: Katherine Elizabeth – an eight pounder! Welcome to the world, littlest angel!
Lots to smile about:)
Good night, angels!
+
Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

4 thoughts on “Silly way to spend an evening, but I like it…”

  1. I find it makes the time go quicker, somehow – it’s less boring than knitting row after row after row…. Although I have to admit, there’s something to be said for that – with a cup o’ somethin’ at your side, a trashy old filme noir on TV and a storm brewing outside….lovely!

  2. I find it makes the time go quicker, somehow – it’s less boring than knitting row after row after row…. Although I have to admit, there’s something to be said for that – with a cup o’ somethin’ at your side, a trashy old filme noir on TV and a storm brewing outside….lovely!

Leave a Reply

