And Remember, We Were Fighting for Our Lives Then!


All of us in this country give lip service to the ideals set
forth in the Bill of rights and emphasized by every additional amendment, and
yet, when war is stirring in the world, many of us are ready to curtail our
civil liberties. We do not stop to think that curtailing these liberties
may in the end bring us a greater danger than the danger we are trying to
avert.
Eleanor Roosevelt, Cosmospolitan, Feb. 1940
Talk about timely advice from a voice of the past!
So far, this week has been lazier than anticipated. I finally FINALLY finished my son’s sweater and, as stated previously, it is about 2x the size it was supposed to be. I knitted this a size HUGE. But for some reason, he still wants it and who am I to judge? I’m just glad it’s off the “UFO” list.
Have decided in the last couple of weeks to join Equality Maryland. It’s a group of people fighting for (among other things) equal marriage rights for gay people. Since it’s something I fervently believe in since, IMHO all children, not just the children of straight people, should have the stability that marriage can (not always does) bring to families. I don’t know what, if any, good I can do, but I will try.
Well, at some point, I’ve got to re-clean the house and get things in order for the coming year at work – transferring cases, arrranging schedules, etc. and getting knitting projects together.
OK, this entry is even starting to make me snore – so I will go now:)
+
Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

Leave a Reply

