Getting Ready for the Holydays!


OK, this is as far as we (I) have gotten with the Christmas tree. Thank goodness it’s fake. Sorry folks, but I hate vacuuming/sweeping up needles and worrying about the lights drying out the tree and fires and all sorts of OCD/ADHD crap like that. And you thought I was normal…..
Anyway, today is the day I wrestle with the procrastinator demons! This tree will be decorated with every bloomin’ ornament – or else…..
But before I do that I’ve got to clean up around here and write and send the Christmas cards I bought two blessed WEEKS ago! And finish that motion response and finish that sweater I told Nancy I wasn’t going to knit for her. I can post pics here because she never reads this thing – unlike others I know who cannot post anything because their friends and relatives are internet savvy and want to peek, LOL.
Here’s another project I just frogged – the yarn is pretty but it’s too rough to make a scarf out of – not without something to carry with it to soften it. Luckily, I have just the thing – some cotton yarn in a hot green color. That should soften things a bit. Unfortunately, I have to start the whole thing all over again. AArrgghh. I may have to just buy Maureen something for Christmas. The cool thing about this yarn is I got it for almost half off, so it’s not a total loss. Just have to figure out what to make with it if the scarf doesn’t work out. Well, let’s think positive!
Nancy’s sweater just needs sleeves and finishing. I’m knitting both sleeves at the same time. I WILL finish this hopefully before Tuesday, so I can just drop it off to her.
I also have to get some Christmas shopping done for the kids and grandangels- thankfully a lot has been done online, which makes life infinitely easier for John and me – and provides employment for all those nice UPS people:)
Here’s the sweater to date:
I’ve changed Melissa Leapman’s pattern somewhat in that I’ve kept the background color completely uniform and have decided not to use the Fair Isle pattern on the sleeves at all. I’m a little concerned, not so much about the fit this time – I think there’s enough ease but not too much – but the colors are somewhat dark and Nancy is quite fair although she looks good in both cool and warm colors. I am stressing about the colors, can you tell? And whether this kind of gift is appropriate? I look at it this way: this lady is a brilliant musician (yes, people say that kind of thing all the time, I know, but I REALLY mean it here – she’s got two Masters degrees from Peabody and is no dummy, trust me. And she plays organ while conducting a choir, a bell choir and a brass quintet all at the same time, while pointing out errors in individual parts – to say nothing of political and artistic intelligence – ok you get my point). Her reputation has gained us so much in terms of involvement with other groups of musicians and opportunities to perform. She has played numerous times at the Washington Cathedral. We get to sing real works of art and do it sounding not like the volunteer bumpkins we are, but like we know what we’re doing. All the while providing an atmosphere of worship in a suburban church. Yet she probably gets paid what all church musicians get paid – bupkus. I don’t have the big bucks to contribute a thousand here and there to the music program, nor do I have hundreds of dollars to buy something nice to show my appreciation – but I do have enough to buy yarn – even wool or cotton – and if I give my time to make something decent, I feel I will be doing a small thing to show my appreciation. That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it:)
As I was sitting down to type this (and procrastinating from the other tasks I have today), three lovely ladies showed up at Grandma’s house.
They were at St. John’s at a Holiday party thrown by Dori’s union. They must’ve rented the
the space from the church – ironic because I had just spent part of the afternoon at an extra choir practice just across the parking lot in the church. Ruby is really growing a little personality. Both she and Madison looked so cute in their Christmas outfits. Madison and her boots and Ruby in her little black patent leather mary janes. Too cute:)
OK, I admit it – i have a little kid shoe fetish. They just crack me up. So call the fashion police and arrest me!
OK, back to work – now where can I find those ornament hanger wire thingies??…..
+
Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

4 thoughts on “Getting Ready for the Holydays!”

  1. Thanks for your church info — I am still lurking as a blog-reader and I appreciate your frequent updates. I have sought out your church info, and will pass the same out to my sis in the Weatherburn neighborhood. I am astonished and impressed that you had 6 children, and you still have the energy to appear in court and file Responses to Things. My nerves caved in after being a paralegal and drafting those things. I also like your knitting projects. Do you knit continental or English style? I am continental.

  2. Thanks for your church info — I am still lurking as a blog-reader and I appreciate your frequent updates. I have sought out your church info, and will pass the same out to my sis in the Weatherburn neighborhood. I am astonished and impressed that you had 6 children, and you still have the energy to appear in court and file Responses to Things. My nerves caved in after being a paralegal and drafting those things. I also like your knitting projects. Do you knit continental or English style? I am continental.

  3. Hello! I hated, absolutely hated, being a paralegal, mostly because my boss was a man with no self-control with regard to his temper. There are still times when I also sit bolt upright in the middle of the night slapping my head and thinking “oh sh*t!” thinking I’ve forgotten some vital deadline. So far I’ve been lucky. I don’t blame you for wanting to do something else. But I really love what I do now – and try not to let the tension part get to me. What career doesn’t have its ups and downs. As for my own kids, they’re grown for the most part and a lot of that pressure is off, thank goodness!! I must admit, though, I have only very vague recollections of the mid 1980s, LOL.
    I knit continental – would go crazy if I had to go back to English/American – too slow. But I have paid a price in that my tension is looser than it used to be. A good thing in knitting fair isle is that I can put the different strands in left and right hands, knitting continental with one color and English/American with the other.

    Thanks for visiting:) Happy Holidays!
    +

  4. Hello! I hated, absolutely hated, being a paralegal, mostly because my boss was a man with no self-control with regard to his temper. There are still times when I also sit bolt upright in the middle of the night slapping my head and thinking “oh sh*t!” thinking I’ve forgotten some vital deadline. So far I’ve been lucky. I don’t blame you for wanting to do something else. But I really love what I do now – and try not to let the tension part get to me. What career doesn’t have its ups and downs. As for my own kids, they’re grown for the most part and a lot of that pressure is off, thank goodness!! I must admit, though, I have only very vague recollections of the mid 1980s, LOL.
    I knit continental – would go crazy if I had to go back to English/American – too slow. But I have paid a price in that my tension is looser than it used to be. A good thing in knitting fair isle is that I can put the different strands in left and right hands, knitting continental with one color and English/American with the other.

    Thanks for visiting:) Happy Holidays!
    +

Leave a Reply

