It’s almost Chrismuss, Hon’


It’s beginning to look a lotlike Christmas, hon’. At least that’s what they say in good ole Ball tee more. My oldest used to rent one of these row houses. In fact it’s the one to the right of the Christmas tree made out of hubcaps. The guy who
owns that place is really an artist and his back yard has a ton of scraps for his scultpures. The

folks on these here streets are actually quite creative:) Even my daughter got into the act when she lived here. I happened to drive by after I dropped her off at her new place – after a 15-minute argument about her sister.
This is driving me nuts. John and I had six kids and Lord knows we had our issues. No doubt we’ve screwed every one of them up. But I hope to God none of them ever wondered if we loved them. The kids have had their odd tiffs and differences now and then, but nothing serious. In fact, the two things I have always been grateful for is (1) they all live nearby and (2) they’ve always been each other’s friends. Now I am so scared that we are about to plunge into a major schism between my two oldest and it is killing me. I don’t even want to say any more than that for fear one of them will read it here. I cannot meddle because it only makes things worse – I can only trust that what they have will see them through.
Other than that, not much new here. Last night I officially started my Christmas shopping – mostly little things that I saw that I thought would be good for my family. Not a lot yet. But hey, that’s pretty good for me – I usually start as soon as the paycheck before Christmas becomes available, LOL!
I am still waiting to see if I have a job after December 31st. I hope I do. I really really like what I do and the thought of going to work for some firm (not like the one I am working for) makes me literally sick to my stomach. Oh well, there are other good people out there and good practices. I don’t mean to be a whiny brat. It just feels like when you love what you do, you don’t feel like it’s really work. And maybe I was only to be gifted with this blessing for a short time. If so, fine. Another door will open. It always does. But I hope it doesn’t have to:)
This afternoon, I went with a dozen or so choir members to go caroling at a couple of nursing homes. Kelly B., from my EFM group, also came because she has a soft spot for the elderly and loves to volunteer in nursing homes. She made a new friend today, bless her heart! People like that just give me so much to thank God for! Nancy S (of course:)), directed, played piano or organ, and sang alto or soprano as the need arose. Sopranos present were Ann C (married to Tom C.) Ann C. (married to Russ C who wasn’t present), Linda K., Rachel and the other Rachel, who came with her mother whose name I don’t know, to sing, and Kelly B., Altos were Ann M. Mary S., Tenors were Drew C. and yours truly; and Basses were Tom C and Bob M (married to Ann M.). It’s cool that a number of our choir are married to each other. Unfortunately, I cannot get John to come to my church, let alone SING!
The folks at the two places seemed very happy to see us and hear us and some were happy while others where moved and probably a little sad. It was more of a blessing for us to be there than it was for them – and we really had a blast:)
Well, the rest of this weekend will consist of finishing that SCARF!!! starting a sweater I want to get done by Christmas (what do you think are my chances, lol?) and EVALUATIONS which must be done by Monday!!!
Did I tell you I love my job (seriously, I do!)
+
Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

10 thoughts on “It’s almost Chrismuss, Hon’”

  1. This is Christine in Colorado the lurker again. Thanks for answering my long-winded previous comment. I appreciated your clarification concerning your philosophical leanings — I think my twin would be more comfortable in St. John’s environment than in my own congregation. We have a friend from college who is now a conservative Methodist minister and we attend his congregation when I visit E.C. – I am wholeheartedly engaged in that service, and she is hoping that no conversational “triggers” are tripped, so she can leave without a headache…

    Her husband is woefully lonely and needs some non-judgemental male friends who have time for him. He is very funny and very sophisticated in home improvements. He will try anything non-evangelical once — is there a place where he could meet some upstanding men to befriend him in a non-condescending way? It sounds like your church could work for them in a fringe sort of way.

    Also, did you know that “Ellicott” is Italian for helicopter?

  2. This is Christine in Colorado the lurker again. Thanks for answering my long-winded previous comment. I appreciated your clarification concerning your philosophical leanings — I think my twin would be more comfortable in St. John’s environment than in my own congregation. We have a friend from college who is now a conservative Methodist minister and we attend his congregation when I visit E.C. – I am wholeheartedly engaged in that service, and she is hoping that no conversational “triggers” are tripped, so she can leave without a headache…

    Her husband is woefully lonely and needs some non-judgemental male friends who have time for him. He is very funny and very sophisticated in home improvements. He will try anything non-evangelical once — is there a place where he could meet some upstanding men to befriend him in a non-condescending way? It sounds like your church could work for them in a fringe sort of way.

    Also, did you know that “Ellicott” is Italian for helicopter?

  3. I think your twin and her husband would be very comfortable at St. John’s. There are a number of men’s groups and all of them would welcome someone with home improvement expertise, LOL:), let alone funny!
    Hope that helped:)
    Joan

  4. I think your twin and her husband would be very comfortable at St. John’s. There are a number of men’s groups and all of them would welcome someone with home improvement expertise, LOL:), let alone funny!
    Hope that helped:)
    Joan

  5. Terri, thanks for the words of wisdom – I think I will let that be my mantra for the coming weeks:)
    Thanks so much!
    I have been lurking on the internet, following your progress and you really have amazing talent with that knitting!
    I finally finished my daughter’s scarf – it wasn’t half bad. Now I have to start with something interesting, so I decided to knit a friend a fair isle sweater, starting out with a beautiful turquoise. Got some of those Knit Picks Options interchangeable needles and so far, they really are doing the job well. Will post some pics soon!
    Terry, thanks again!
    Joan

  6. Terri, thanks for the words of wisdom – I think I will let that be my mantra for the coming weeks:)
    Thanks so much!
    I have been lurking on the internet, following your progress and you really have amazing talent with that knitting!
    I finally finished my daughter’s scarf – it wasn’t half bad. Now I have to start with something interesting, so I decided to knit a friend a fair isle sweater, starting out with a beautiful turquoise. Got some of those Knit Picks Options interchangeable needles and so far, they really are doing the job well. Will post some pics soon!
    Terry, thanks again!
    Joan

Leave a Reply

