Circle Pits, not Karate Kicks???


OK, I did it. What is that you said? Sorry can’t hear you! What an amazing night. I came away with an appreciation for punk/hardcore music. Now some will tell you it’s not music. They will say all the “songs” sound alike. ‘Taint necessarily so. What I found really fascinating was the fact that the boundary distinction between performer and attendee was seriously blurred. The lyrics reflect the rage and sense of injustice. The yelling, the loud music, the intense, lightening swift rhythms brought forth by the drummer reflect the emotional catharsis that is being wrought by this artform. My ears hurt, there were a LOT of sweating young people. I had two big men standing in front of me, blocking me from the hurtling bodies of the young adults watching and participating in the entire thing. And my daughter, facing the amps with her bass, intently playing and enjoying every minute. I didn’t realize there is even a brief reference to her band (The Spark) in a Wikipedia article on the music of Baltimore!
When I arrived at Ten-Car Pileup in Towson (at about 9:30), the band, Kill Your Idols was setting up. Kill Your Idols were friends of Kristin and Dori’s about 10 years ago when the two of them went up to NY to see them. They actually stayed at the home of one of the bandmembers while they visited. This was Kill Your Idols’ last performance for Baltimore. A fitting prequel to the arrival of The Spark. They had quite a following! Kill Your Idols was typically punk with the lyrics shouted together by leader and crowd, the lighteningspeed drumming and fast bass/rhythm guitar progressions. But The Spark really took them up a few notches. It was really amazing. Yes, I’m her mother. Get over it.
I will modify this post by adding some pics I took. But I gotta pack and get to the recital, then to St. Michaels. Back Tuesday evening:)
+
Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

Leave a Reply

