Guess where I’m going November 4th?


Vicki B. was my freshman roommate at Middlebury College. In September of 1972, the two of us began what was to become a longlasting friendship that has spanned marriage, births and even deaths. We were in and out of touch over the years. I became a wife, mother, lawyer and she became an Aunt, probably somebody’s lover at some point (one never asks these things, but she once dated this guy named Roger that I know of;)) and a librarian and she will soon become a priest. One day she wrote, no e-mailed, me and said, “I have this scathingly brilliant idea…” and then suggested we both write to the NY office for tickets to the investiture of Katharine Jefferts-Schori. My request met with a “sorry, no go.” Hers did not. So two things are happening the weekend of the 4th, well, three. Vicki is coming to MD to visit, we are going to the National Cathedral to see the historic investiture of the first woman leader of our church and I’m singing (tenor, no less!) the William Byrd Mass in 4 parts in my church choir for All Saints Sunday. Good Lord willing and the creek don’t rise, of course:)
What an amazing piece of news! I hope the crazy folks leave this woman alone, let her do her work and do what she’s been called to do. This is unfortunately
the type of world we live in. I cannot help but be a bit concerned. But what a wonderful opportunity! I cannot wait:) Now I have to tell John we have a visitor coming 11/4 and I’m going to DC. YES!!!
The funny thing is, people at home can probably get a better view of this on TV, but when I’m older and greyer, I can tell my grandchildren I was there! But if I miss the 11/5 All Saints Service to go to the installation, I will be so torn!
Ah, this brings back memories, like of the night we joined Catholic Daughters back in 1975 to help a friend at the church we were attending bring up the numbers – what a hoot. And the time we barely knew each other and I invariably used every opportunity to embarass her! Vicki is one of those people who makes theology not only fun, but incredibly funny at times. I know she will make a great priest – and this will be a terrific start to her journey as one.
OK, not a lot of knitting here, but I’ve been working on a generic sort of blue scarf for my daughter, Sabrina. My kids don’t often ask me to knit things for them, so I better get back to it:)
+
Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

Leave a Reply

