For this I took a break from work?


Horoscope for this week – spiritual schizophrenia?

“In 2000, I logged 34,000 miles during my travels across America to meet my readers. During a three-year stretch earlier in my life, I was a homeless gypsy, sponging off friends and staying in hostels from Vermont to South Carolina, from Italy to Greece. But in recent years I’ve gone on extensive pilgrimages of another kind, carried out through imaginal exercises, lucid dreams, and shamanic meditations. According to my reading of the omens, Aquarius, you can generate rich blessings for yourself by getting away from it all in either of these two directions. What’s better, to head out into far-flung places in the outer world or the inner world? It doesn’t matter.
*
SACRED ADVERTISEMENT A thousand years from today, everyone you know will be long dead and forgotten. There’ll be nothing left of the life you love, no evidence that you ever walked this planet. That, at least, is what the fundamentalist materialists would have you believe. But suppose the truth is very different? What if in fact every little thing you do subtly alters the course of world history? What if your day-to-day decisions will actually help determine how the human species navigates its way through the epic turning point we’re living through? And finally, what if you will be alive in a thousand years, reincarnated into a fresh body and in possession of the memories of the person you were back in this era? These are my hypotheses. These are my prophecies. Which is why I say: Live as if your soul is eternal. “

As if? Asif???!!! Are you kidding me? If I have a soul, it’s eternal, goddammit! (How’s that for reverence?)

I “know” the Three Kings of Orient, alternatively known as the Three Wise Guys, did the horoscope thing. I also know that it is far better to throw one’s lot in with the real Ruler of the Universe, but hey, why not read one of these things occasionally? I like these because they at least give me food for thought, and this one certainly does.

Nothing typed yet on the brief, but a lot of headway with fact gathering and law gathering and hopefully not much wool gathering (snort snort chuckle chuckle).

Well, John and I are not going away to the wilds of Lawn Guy Land. His leg is really hurting him. Bad disc causing sciatica. I’m amazed he’s as easygoing as he is. I’d be a cranky “B” fer sure. And off he goes to his two jobs that have him on his feet from 5:30 PM to 7:30 AM the next day. The man is a candidate for sainthood – especially with me as his wife. Seriously, no kidding there. This stuff must be going around – all the lawn and garden work that happens over the summer must have its own harvest in the fall, I guess. For some, a literal fall, for others, it just means the creaking of the bones in the cooler weather. A dear friend’s hubby is going in for surgery on his lower back – some sort of fusion of the bones. I cannot believe it is an outpatient procedure! The poor guy had a brace/cervical collar a couple of years ago for another spine injury – this current thing is for a fall from a tree, I think, and lower down in the back. That kind of pain doesn’t go away with four Advil and call me in the morning! If you read this and the Spirit (the Good One, you know Who I mean…) moves you, please shoot up a prayer for the two of them.
And now for something completely different:
And I used to do it with my best Grover voice…….This book cover was put up on flickr by my daughter, who tells me I used to scare the, ahem, shit out of her when I read it to her when she was little. Dang. It was such a cute little book. I thought it was a good allegory – sort of Pogo-esque – about meeting the enemy and he being we or them is us?? Beyond that, I won’t give up the ending:)
On the knitting front, got a couple of books from Zooba (http://www.zooba.com) to replace one that didn’t arrive (the box did, LOL) and another that came upside down inside the book cover (don’t ask). But their customer service was wonderful – and for a guarranteed price of 9.95 per book (including shipping) you can’t go wrong. The selection is not going to be every book you want, but they have a lot of good ones on knitting. I got the Mason-Dixon knitting book through them. The two I got this week were Claire Crompton’s The Knitting Bible (sans Theology) and Charlene Schurch’s Sensational Knitted Socks. Both are actually very good reference books and a good start for a number of projects. And if you’ve read other parts of my blog you know my feelings about knitting socks:)
I spent some other money last night. I feel rather guilty because I shouldn’t be doing this too often – and I don’t really, except for the occasional lunch out with friends and a skein of yarn now and then (and I really really balance the expensive stuff with acrylics, really I do!). Anyway, after choir practice, which ends at 9:30, give or take, I went to Borders and got The Essential Tallis Scholars. I had never heard of them before. Nancy, our choirmaster (emphasis on master – she’s brilliant) mentioned their recording of Byrd’s English Mass for four voices (which of course, we’re singing in Latin!) and suggested we obtain a copy. So I thought, hell, I don’t have anything else to do at this hour, why not? Went to Borders and thought I was getting our Byrd. But I wasn’t – the Byrd pieces were a different Mass he composed. So I guess I flopped the Byrd (oooohhhh baddddd). But it was an excellent compilation of their work – which itself is excellent. I’m listening to it now – it lends itself well to brief writing:)
Speaking of this brief – I won’t even recap the facts for reasons, but I so hope Connie uses Horton Hears a Who in her argument! It is the myth that underscores this entire case. Myth in the Joseph Campbell sense of the word.
OK, as I read this night’s entry, it feels like human, not spiritual schizophrenia, so back to work, so I can impose my insanity on two innocent children (OH GOD FORBID!)
Pax, Friede, Pace, Paix, Peace be to you my friends and my enemies alike+
Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

Leave a Reply

