Norman, oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-ooh


“It’s always too soon to quit.”
Norman Vincent Peale (1898-1993)American minister & best-selling author, former door-to-door salesman

Thank you, BizQuotes! One of my favorite writers and a predecessor of another one of my favorites – William Sloane Coffin.

How true that is! There are a lot of things I’d like to quit. I’d like to quit working on this brief – I’m going to have to ask for a little more time before meeting with my colleague – just a day – and I don’t like that.

I’d like to quit working on some relationships – or non-relationships – that have me baffled beyond belief and grieving more than I ever expected I would be.

I’d like to give up on the idea of ever playing an instrument with any kind of competency – a dream in the midst of all I have to do to make a living.

I’d like to quit worrying about what and how much I eat – but that is a form of childishness.

I’d like to quit dreaming of that PsyD.

I’d like to quit a lot of my knitting projects that sometimes seem to be an escape from my “real” duties and obligations.

But I won’t. There’s an ornery joy in fighting the demons of my childhood, in fighting those still ever faint (and sometimes ever screamingly loud) internal voices that tell me I’m a fraud, how dare I, who do I think I am, I’m really just a loser, a moron, an idiot faking it as a human being.

I won’t quit.

This brief is a wonderful opportunity, and a worthwhile goal that will help two little boys.

This relationship – this person -is worth fighting, even dying for – or at least sticking around to be curious as to what’s happening next.:)

I can make the choice to practice. I can give up TV, even a little (gasp) knitting for something that fills my spirit with joy and sets my brain to order.

I will get healthier and let all setbacks be nothing more than temporary glitches in the big plan. Food will be put in its proper place! (God bless the Food Nazi – and she knows who she is!)

I can put into place a plan that will give me a new career and the ability to help others quell their screaming demons.

Knitting, too, will be in its proper place – a source of joy and a sense of accomplishment, neither guilt nor escape.

But I’m weak. I admit it.

I need….

God. Prayer. Reflection. Love.

After all, who do I think I am?

Back to work.

Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

Leave a Reply

