Doomsday? Ya gotta be kiddin’ me!


Man, I’ve got to pick up a paper now and then! Apparently today is being touted as a possible end of the world by some experts, albeit more cautiously and in the usual academically circumspect manner:

According to Princeton Professor and Middle Eastern Social History expert Bernard Lewis, as stated in the Wall Street Journal article of somewhere around August 8, 2006,

What is the significance of Aug. 22? This year, Aug. 22 corresponds, in the Islamic calendar, to the 27th day of the month of Rajab of the year 1427. This, by tradition, is the night when many Muslims commemorate the night flight of the prophet Muhammad on the winged horse Buraq, first to “the farthest mosque,” usually identified with Jerusalem, and then to heaven and back (c.f., Koran XVII.1). This might well be deemed an appropriate date for the apocalyptic ending of Israel and if necessary of the world. It is far from certain that Mr. Ahmadinejad plans any such cataclysmic events precisely for Aug. 22. But it would be wise to bear the possibility in mind.
A passage from the Ayatollah Khomeini, quoted in an 11th-grade Iranian schoolbook, is revealing. “I am decisively announcing to the whole world that if the world-devourers [i.e., the infidel powers] wish to stand against our religion, we will stand against their whole world and will not cease until the annihilation of all them. Either we all become free, or we will go to the greater freedom which is martyrdom. Either we shake one another’s hands in joy at the victory of Islam in the world, or all of us will turn to eternal life and martyrdom. In both cases, victory and success are ours.”

Wow – serious stuff, considering the slew of people who were arrested over a week ago in England, foiling a plot to kill some 2,500 people aboard international flights. And now Iran is playing with the arms race. Lovely. Just what you want to read about here, right?

That gets me to my opinion on this knitting and crafts craze that is sweeping the nation, nay, the world: Is it a means of escape? Is it a way we soothe ourselves to sleep or to step outside of the insanity that is our world? Let’s face it: we no longer knit by necessity. We do it as a means of creativity, to gain a sense of accomplishment, perhaps control over a microcosm of the universe. I do it because I crave color and shape and visual/tactile expression and results. But I also do it to get away for awhile. For me, it’s also a form of prayer. So my suggestion for today: accept the escape for what it is and use that time to pray for our fellow human beings in whatever fashion works for you. Think peace, but also think justice and fairness and a world ruled by law and truth. Let’s be open to the thoughts and prayers of others who may not think or believe as we do, but who have families, children, brothers, sisters and who understand human connection. That we have in common. For those who have lost that connection, it is too late, but not for the rest of us. Amen+
In that vein, here is a pic of my FLAK, which is also qualifying for my Project Spectrum August
piece:
The grey is very plain looking from this picture, but it really has some aqua and red flecks in it – interesting Cascade 220 wool yarn. It is knitting up well. I am actually surprised (1) at how close I am to gauge and (2) how quickly it’s knitting up. I think that even though having to follow a pattern is a lot less mindless than just plain knitting/purling – and therefore more time-consuming, the interest that the pattern generates and seeing it arise before your very eyes causes the time to fly. I’m still at the top of the chest but so far, it seems this thing will fit me, really fit me – not flop around in the breeze, LOL. I decided to use braids on either side of a Saxon braid cable as the center panels, surrounded by the wave, honeycomb and rope cables Janet uses in her pattern. But this is the back. I’m thinking I’m going to make this into a cardigan, which means I will need a different center panel for the front – and some five or eight additional stitches on each end for button/holes. I’m looking forward to planning that. Have read a lot about “sleeve island” amongst the FLAKsters, but I’ve a suspicion that it’s the front that is going to be the biggest challenge:) And I love a challenge!
Am working again on the moebius cowl scarf with another skein of Cascade – part wool, part cotton variegated and it’s really looking much better. I think the yarn I used last time, although beautiful, was too fine. I suspect it wants to be a lacy shawl instead. To be seen soon in a blog near you:)
Oh well, so much for the problems of the world – and knitting. Phew I’m tarrrd…..

Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

4 thoughts on “Doomsday? Ya gotta be kiddin’ me!”

  1. Hi Joan
    Love the FLAK – it is the pattern that I want to use for my daughter’s FLAK – care to share the patterns? Do I sould lazy or just tarr’d? Off to the day job… Fran

  2. Hi Joan
    Love the FLAK – it is the pattern that I want to use for my daughter’s FLAK – care to share the patterns? Do I sould lazy or just tarr’d? Off to the day job… Fran

  3. The FLAK design is Janet Szabo’s and can be found as part of the knitalong on her site: http://www.bigskyknitting.com
    I think a direct link to the knitalong is in the side panel to this blog. As to the variations, I’ve typed them up because the charting symbols are different from what I’m used to. But if you want a copy of what I’ve typed up for the center panel only,I’m happy to send it to you in MS Word. Does that work for you?
    I don’t want to infringe on anyone’s workproduct:)
    Thanks for your kind remarks,
    Joan

  4. The FLAK design is Janet Szabo’s and can be found as part of the knitalong on her site: http://www.bigskyknitting.com
    I think a direct link to the knitalong is in the side panel to this blog. As to the variations, I’ve typed them up because the charting symbols are different from what I’m used to. But if you want a copy of what I’ve typed up for the center panel only,I’m happy to send it to you in MS Word. Does that work for you?
    I don’t want to infringe on anyone’s workproduct:)
    Thanks for your kind remarks,
    Joan

Leave a Reply

