Too many interests, too little time.


Sound familiar? My problem is I get obsessed with new things – sometimes to the detriment of the rest of my life. Having realized that, I will be more conscious of that fact. Now let’s see what I do about it. I think it’s a question of telling that over-indulged, immature child inside of me “No.” I’m rarely sorry when I do this.

OK, good things: I’ve lost a total of about 60 lbs in the last year and a half. (The picture below is from Christmas of 2003. I’m the seated in the middle, surrounded by my many blessing but poured into that blue jacket.) It has taken a long time and that’s OK. Hell, I’m not looking to win any beauty contests as a brief glance in my general direction will tell you. But I am looking to continue to fit in my clothes – or smaller ones – and other things as well (such as being able to fasten a seatbelt without choking my boobs to death, LOL). It’s nice to walk up and down the stairs without huffing and puffing. It’s nice to take a walk and enjoy it. And I’m noticing that people respond to me better than they used to. That kind of bothers me and I need to think about that more. There have been surprises in that department, though. Family, friends and colleagues have encouraged me in so many ways and I am truly touched and grateful. I don’t want to quit and I don’t intend to.

Not-so-good things: I have become an even more terrible procrastinator than I was before. Then there is that tendency to constantly think about “me, myself and I” during the day and worrying constantly about the people I love at the end of the day. Seems it would make more sense to do good things and think about them during the day and think about myself at night (I’d sure sleep better…snorrrrre).

OK, probably too much info, but hey, it pays to do an inventory now and then!

Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

Leave a Reply

