Candlelight Vigil in Support of Cindy Sheehan



View to my left – Catonsville Public Library. Vigil in support of Cindy Sheehan and against the war in Iraq – 1 block away from where the Catonsville 9 burned their draft cards about 30+ years ago:) We were encouraged by the support coming from people in traffic going by. I was also struck by the very wide variety of people – all different races, ages, “types”, if you will. Posted by Picasa

More folks on my right at the vigil. One nice lady lent me a candle. Another gave me another candle. I was between client visits and snuck over to attend. A woman from the “Women in Black” explained what they were about when I asked her. (My friends and I had seen a bunch of the WIBs in Middlebury, VT June 25th right in the middle of town. We passed them from across the street, and as we did so, turned, faced them, and applauded. I think they appreciated it. So did the WiB I spoke with tonight:) Many many mothers with children, young and old were there tonight.


Mr. Mfume, former State Senator and leader of the NAACP, came to lend his support to tonight’s vigil. I told him I took his picture only for my online journal. He smiled and said, believe me, it’s OK:) He seemed like a decent, genuine sort of guy. He doesn’t know this, but he’s actually a “friend of a friend.” My lips are sealed;) Glad we had his support.

A woman to my right had brought her Shabbas candles to the vigil. Very appropriate, we both thought:)

And this little light of mine – the second one given to me by another attender. I passed it to a boy who was there with his mother before I left for my next client visit.

Watched the media coverage that evening at 11. Saw my high school friend, Lynne on the news at the Ruxton gathering. The support we got from so many driving by was very encouraging! Maybe POTUS will have to pay attention now.

Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

2 thoughts on “Candlelight Vigil in Support of Cindy Sheehan”

  1. If the United States pulls its troops out of Iraq too soon, a bloody civil war will errupt in that country. The world will once again witness yet another religiously motivated genocide.

    The majority of Iraqis are working towards building a free and democratic Iraq. I’ve been to Baghdad. The positive changes taking place in that city are not reflected in the daily news reports. I’ve actually walked on street patrols with the new Iraqi Army. I’ve manned a checkpoint with the new Iraqi Police. These people are risking their lives for an idea planted by our own country’s founders! How long did we fight the British for our freedom?

    While I understand Ms. Sheehan’s loss, her son volunteered to join the Army. He wasn’t drafted…so the symbolism behind the burning of draft cards remains a mystery to me. If she didn’t want to put her son in harms way, then she should have given her son other options (i.e. like helping him pay for college). I have a son and I’m paying every cent of his college education.

    And finally, yes, the war was about O-I-L. If feeds, houses, employs and moves our modern world.
    OIL is the world’s most important natural resource!!!

    Until Americans, Europeans and Asians are willing to change their consumption driven lifestyles and cultures, the reality of having troops in the Middle East will remain a part of today’s
    headlines.

    The next time you need to go to the supermarket…try walking or riding a bike! Hey, here’s another idea…tell your local leaders you want your community to enact a mandatory, curbside recycling program. Instead of throwing out those empty plastic bottles of water…they could be reused over again and again.

  2. If the United States pulls its troops out of Iraq too soon, a bloody civil war will errupt in that country. The world will once again witness yet another religiously motivated genocide.

    The majority of Iraqis are working towards building a free and democratic Iraq. I’ve been to Baghdad. The positive changes taking place in that city are not reflected in the daily news reports. I’ve actually walked on street patrols with the new Iraqi Army. I’ve manned a checkpoint with the new Iraqi Police. These people are risking their lives for an idea planted by our own country’s founders! How long did we fight the British for our freedom?

    While I understand Ms. Sheehan’s loss, her son volunteered to join the Army. He wasn’t drafted…so the symbolism behind the burning of draft cards remains a mystery to me. If she didn’t want to put her son in harms way, then she should have given her son other options (i.e. like helping him pay for college). I have a son and I’m paying every cent of his college education.

    And finally, yes, the war was about O-I-L. If feeds, houses, employs and moves our modern world.
    OIL is the world’s most important natural resource!!!

    Until Americans, Europeans and Asians are willing to change their consumption driven lifestyles and cultures, the reality of having troops in the Middle East will remain a part of today’s
    headlines.

    The next time you need to go to the supermarket…try walking or riding a bike! Hey, here’s another idea…tell your local leaders you want your community to enact a mandatory, curbside recycling program. Instead of throwing out those empty plastic bottles of water…they could be reused over again and again.

Leave a Reply

