Another convention


The Republicans have invaded NYC. Oh well – they better not treat the protesters like the cops did in Chicago in ’68. That would REALLY be the pits.

http://www.sojo.net/action/alerts/sojourners_petition.pdf

I am proud to say I am one of the people who e-signed the above petition. (Actually I believe God is a civil libertarian.) Apparently it’s going to run in the NY Times, the Virginian (Pat Robertson’s local paper) and also in a Lynchburg paper where Jerry Falwell lives and works. Kewl.

Finally back to work, but just getting there slowly. A lot of boxes are unpacked; a lot are left to do and may not be done before we move again in 10 months, but that’s ok. It’s nice to have the niceties of home.

My daughter was looking for work and now has a job – with one of my best friends. I hope they get to like each other. I’m sure they will – usually one’s children like the friends better than the parents. (At least in my case they do and can you wonder…)

Can’t believe my granddaughter starts preschool next week. it’s the end of an era – when we can’t completely protect them from everything. Up until now she’s only been surrounded by a family who loves her. In a way, she’always be surrounded by us – just like sometimes I feel myself surrounded by the love I had as a small child. My mother’s gone, my grandparents, some of my cousins and in-laws, but at times I still feel their presence in my life. Hope she always will have that.

With any luck, I’ll start choir next week. That is, if we can figure out the car situation. (!) No comment.

Bye for now.

Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

Leave a Reply

