wiped out…..


At court today – my family would say it’s the first real day of work I’ve done this week – I would disagree..At lunch met an attorney who is now with the PD’s office – he used to work at MDLC were Kristin used to work – Ken Wardlaw is his name. Apparently his sister was in a band that eventually broke up and he and Kris used to talk a lot about music. I told him about her new band – he picked the right topic for me, I’m proud of all my kids.
I am so troubled about one case – I really cannot trust the mother to not abuse him when he goes back, and my boss agrees, but it is so hard to say to someone, “I don’t think you should ever get your kid back.” His CASA is a sweet lady, who I found out in our conversation tonight, is a Holocaust survivor – she went into hiding in Holland when she was only 4 years old. It just broke my heart to hear that – my granddaughter Madison turns 4 on Sunday. She was so tearful the other night, missing her mommy and daddy. I could not imagine hiding her with virtual strangers for months, even years. What people have gone through and continue to go through all over the world is enough to break your heart. I remember telling the CASA that for me the big heroes of the world are not the Donald Trumps or Rockefellers, although they have their talents, I suppose. To me the biggest heroes are those who refuse to goose step in accordance with the prevailing thought of the times, but instead, follow Truth, Goodness, in short, those who follow God. It was these people who kept on telling the truth when others were killing Jews. These people hid blacks being chased by those who would lynch them. Those people asked Joe McCarthy if he, at long last, had no shame. Finally it was those people who “had a dream.” Ok, so I’m not all that poetic, but you get my point.

I’m still agonizing over this case, though.

Author: fuguestateknits

Wife of one, mother of six, gram of five (so far) and lawyer for many young persons, I love to sing, read, knit and walk. My politics are somewhat left of Marx and I want to hear what you think, too!

Leave a Reply

